NIH Public Access Policy Compliance: Login with your eRA Commons account

Use your eRA Commons account to log in to My NCBI

From any NCBI screen (PubMed, Gene, etc.) click on the Sign in to NCBI link in the upper right corner. You don't have to have an existing My NCBI account.

Tips for working in eRA Commons provided below.

Additional Assistance can be found at:

Electronic Research Administration (eRA)

Link existing My NCBI account to eRA Commons account

If you already have a My NCBI account that you want to use to manage your compliance, link it to your eRA Commons login. When you are signed in to My NCBI, click on the username in the upper right.

Click on the Change button for Linked Account

Scroll down and select NIH & eRA Commons.

Checking Compliance Status

To see whether your publications are compliant or not, go to My Bibliography and click the link “Manage My Bibliography.” From the “Display Settings” drop-down menu select “Award” view, and click the Apply button.

On the resulting screen each citation is marked with visual cues that indicate the peer review article compliance status.

For more information, see the NIH Managing Compliance Help page.

Paper listed as Non-compliant but does not fall under the NIH PA policy?

1. Log in to your My NCBI account.
2. Go to My Bibliography and click on the “Manage My Bibliography” link.
3. Locate the non-compliant paper in your list of citations and click the “Edit Status” link.
4. Select the reason that this article is exempt from the submission requirements of the
NIH Public Access Policy.
5. Save your changes but do NOT delete the citation from My Bibliography. When the
compliance monitor is next updated it will capture your changes and the paper will be
removed.

Can't find the paper in My Bibliography?
1. Go to PubMed (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed), enter the article’s PMID into
the search box, and click search. (The PMID is identified in the compliance monitor report from ORSP.)
2. Use PubMed’s “Send to” feature to add the paper to My Bibliography.
3. Go to My Bibliography and click on the “Manage My Bibliography” link.
4. Find the new citation and assign the relevant grant number(s) to it. Use the NIH grant number(s) that is listed with your name in the compliance monitor.
5. Now click the “Edit Status” link for this citation.
6. Select the reason that this article is exempt from the submission requirements of the
NIH Public Access Policy.
7. Save your changes but do NOT delete this citation from My Bibliography. When the
compliance monitor is next updated it will capture your changes and the paper will be
removed.