Emancipation Proclamation: Books

Encyclopedia Entries

Books--A Sampler

Listed here is just a selection of scholarly books published since 2000. For more books, as well as other materials, see the box at the bottom of this column.

The Fiery Trial : Abraham Lincoln and American slavery by Eric Foner
Call Number: E457.2 .F66 2010 Memorial Level 2 Reading Room
Publication Date: 2010
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Abraham Lincoln and the Road to Emancipation, 1861-1865 by William K. Klingaman
Call Number: E457.2 .K57 2001 Memorial Level 2
Publication Date: 2001
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Act of Justice : Lincoln's Emancipation Proclamation and the law of war by Burrus M. Carnahan
Call Number: E453 .C375 2007 Memorial Level 2
Publication Date: 2007
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Lincoln's Emancipation Proclamation : the end of slavery in America by Allen C. Guelzo
Call Number: E453 .G9 2004 Memorial Level 2
Publication Date: 2004
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Team of Rivals: the political genius of Abraham Lincoln by Doris Kearns Goodwin
Call Number: E457.45 .G66 2005 Memorial Level 2
Publication Date: 2005
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Emancipating Lincoln by Harold Holzer
Call Number: E453 .H644 2012 Memorial Level 2 Reading Room
Publication Date: 2012
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Envisioning Emancipation by Deborah Willis; Barbara Krauthamer
Call Number: E185.2 .W68 2013 Memorial Level 2 Reading Room
ISBN: 9781439909850
Publication Date: 2012
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
The Emancipation Proclamation : three views (social, political, iconographic) by Harold Holzer; Edna Greene Medford; Frank J. Williams
Call Number: E453 .H645 2006 Memorial Level 2
Publication Date: 2006
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Lincoln and Freedom: slavery, emancipation, and the Thirteenth Amendment by Harold Holzer (Editor)
Call Number: E457.2 .L815 2007 Memorial Level 2 Reading Room
Publication Date: 2007
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Final Freedom by Michael Vorenberg
Call Number: E453 .V67 2001 Memorial Level 2
Publication Date: 2001
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Lincoln's Hundred Days by Louis P. Masur
Call Number: E453 .M266 2012 Memorial Level 2 Reading Room
Publication Date: 2012
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.