skip to main content

Borrowing privileges: Undergraduate

Contact Information

Circulation:
Phone: 288-7555
Email: memcirc
@marquette.edu

ID Card

A valid MU ID must be presented to check out any library material. Each borrower is responsible for all material borrowed on his/her ID. Report lost or stolen IDs immediately to the Marquette Card Office in Room 158 of the Alumni Memorial Union.

Borrowing privileges

LOAN PERIOD

Books and other material from the general collection are loaned for a six week (42 day) period. An email due date notification is sent at the time of check out. There is no limit on the number of items that may be checked out. All checked out material is subject to recall by another user.

 

Special collections may have shorter loan periods:

  • AVM collection (DVD/Video) - 5 day loan-no renewal
  • Browsing collection - 3 week loan-no renewal
  • Ciszek collection - 3 week loan -no renewal
  • Manresa collection- 3 week loan -no renewal
  • Children’s collection - 3 week loan
  • Reference collection - 1 week loan unless noted as Library Use Only.

 

PERIODICALS

Periodicals do not circulate to students.

Holds and Recalls

  • A combined maximum of five active holds and/or recalls at one time are allowed per user.
  • All circulating items are subject to recall by other users; the first user is guaranteed 10 days usage. (Material needed for Class Reserve must be returned immediately.) When a recall is issued the original due date is canceled and a new due date is established.
  • The patron with the material is sent a recall notice requesting return of the material within seven days. If the item is not returned within that time, an Overdue Recall notice is sent and borrowing privileges are suspended until the item is returned.
  • Users with recalled items that are more than one week overdue will be billed for the replacement cost of the item plus a non-refundable $25.00 billing fee.
  • Ignoring a recall notice is a serious breach of library etiquette. The recall policy is designed to insure equal access to the collection for all patrons.

Online Holds and Recalls

  1. Search MARQCAT for the needed item.
  2. If the item is checked out, the status box will display the DUE DATE and there will be a blue check mark button along the top of the screen labeled REQUEST. Click on that button.
  3. Enter your Marqnet/e-mail username and password in the corresponding boxes.
  4. Click on, “Submit.”
  5. The book title and related information will be displayed, and if the information is correct, click the REQUEST SELECTED ITEM button.
  6. You will be notified via Marquette e-mail when the material is ready for pickup. The material will be held at the Raynor Circulation Desk for seven days.
  7. Some material cannot be recalled. Titles that are AVAILABLE should be on the shelf - if you cannot find it, complete a Trace Request at the Circulation Desk. Material in certain collections may not be eligible for recall. Not all library card holders are eligible to place recalls. Courtesy Card and Infopass holders are not eligible. Also any Marquette user with a block on their record will have to clear the block before being eligible to place recalls.

RENEWALS

Books may be renewed for additional six week (42 day) period starting seven days before the due date. Books may be brought to the Circulation Desk for renewal or renewed online. https://libus.csd.mu.edu/patroninfo. There is no limit on the number of times an item can be renewed; however, all material is subject to recall by other users.

HOW TO RENEW ITEMS ONLINE

  1. Go to the Raynor Memorial Libraries Login screen.
  2. Enter your Marqnet/e-mail username and password in the corresponding boxes.
  3. Click on, “Submit.”
  4. Select: “Items Currently Checked Out.”
  5. You may renew INDIVIDUAL titles by selecting the “Renew” button in front of each book. After selecting the individual titles you would like to renew, click on the "Renew selected items" button.
  6. You may renew ALL checked-out items by selecting the “Renew All” button.

OVERDUE PROCEDURES

  1. An overdue notice is sent via Marquette University e-mail 5 days after the due date requesting return of the material. Instructions for online renewing is included in this notice.
  2. A warning notice is sent 4 weeks after the due date detailing the charges that will be incurred if the material is not returned or renewed within two weeks. Once this notice is sent, further borrowing is prohibited until the overdue material is returned or renewed and the material must be brought to the library for renewal.
  3. Material not returned or renewed within 6 weeks of the due date is considered lost. A bill for the replacement cost of the material plus a $15.00 billing fee is issued. The replacement cost of the book will be credited if the material is returned within four months of the due date. Fines should be paid at the Circulation Desk by cash or check.
  4. All overdue notices are sent as a courtesy via Marquette University e-mail and non-receipt of a notice does not exempt the borrower from overdue penalties.

Student Group Study Rooms (Raynor)

Room Location Map

PLEASE NOTE: Study rooms are intended for the use of 3 or more students. If all rooms are occupied and some are in use by only 1 or 2 students, see circulation staff, who will vacate a room for your use.

Dry Erase Markers: Packets of dry erase markers and an eraser are available for check out at the Circulation Desk and the Reserve Desk.