Military Studies: National Security

Need Help?
Ask Us!

Online Resources for National Security

Below are resources that are especially well suited to researching aspects of national security.  In addition, try some of the more general article databases and search engines on the Articles page.

By the way, only two are 'traditional' library article databases:  PAIS, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.  The other databases will help you to find a variety of different types of sources, especially government documents.

MARQCAT

MARQCAT, the Marquette Libraries catalog, lists books, DVDs, videos, and CDs the library owns in print or electronic format.  To use it go to the box below this one.

To search for books on a topic: use the Search by drop-down menu and choose either Subject or Keyword.

Here are a few subject headings that will be useful for this area of research:

 

MARQCAT Search





 

Tools: Advanced Search

Encyclopedias and handbooks

e-Book Collections

We have a couple larger collections of e-books.  Although e-books are listed in MARQCAT, you can also search for them directly. The ebrary collection in particular has a good number of books directly related to military studies.

Policy institutes ('think tanks')

This is hardly an exhaustive list (for something closer to it, look at the NIRA directory linked below!); it is meant to provide a sampling of think tanks that do work in the areas of foreign policy or defense policy only.  There are many more!

Here's more about think tanks.  

About think tanks

So what exactly is a think tank?! 

Below are a couple of brief definitions.  Hopefully reading those will explain why we're including them on this page. 

What's the viewpoint or agenda?

If you're wondering about the viewpoint (if any) that a particular think tank may promote, look them up on SourceWatch.org (link below; from the Center for Media & Democracy). FAIR (Fairness & Accuracy in Reporting) also has an analysis of the pattern of news media cites to think tanks.

Recent Books on National Security