Physics: Article Search

Need Help?

Ask us!

Why Articles?

Articles appear in magazines, journals, periodicals, and newspapers. Use articles for:

most recent research on a topic
coverage of very narrow topics
coverage of current events
contemporary accounts of past events and research

Evaluating Articles

Evaluate articles by:

Purpose: Is the purpose to inform, entertain, persuade or educate?
Objectivity: Are various sides or points-of-view represented?
Author: Does the author have expertise on the topic?
Date: Is the information current or timely for your topic?
Bibliography: Are the sources of information cited completely and accurately?

Article Databases

arXiv.org from Cornell University Library This link opens in a new window
An electronic archive of research articles in physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics.
Dissertations and Theses Global from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Extensive North American coverage, lesser European coverage. Full-text availability varies by author's permission.
IEEE/IEE Xplore (Electronic Library) from IEEE This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of IEEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings. 1872-present.
INSPIRE - High Energy Physics This link opens in a new window
The next-generation High Energy Physics (HEP) information system, replacing the predecessor SPIRES. A collaboration between CERN, DESY, Fermilab and SLAC, INSPIRE offers enhanced search capabilities.
Historical Note: In 1991, SPIRES (predecessor to INSPIRE) became the first web-site in North America.
INSPEC from Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Indexes thousands of journals and conference proceedings in physics, engineering, computing and related fields. 1969-present.
More Info: Wide diversity of research makes this database relevant to many fields.
National Technical Reports Library – NTIS from U.S. Dept of Commerce Technology Administration This link opens in a new window
Federally funded technology research reports freely available on the public access NTRL website. The NTRL is open to all users for search and discovery.
SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System from Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of documents from four databases related to astronomy, astrophysics, and physics. Includes abstracts of documents.
Databases are: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, and the arXiv.org preprints in Astronomy.
Web of Science from Clarivate Analytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches 12,000+ scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. Cited Reference Search locates articles that have cited an older document. Limited full-text access.
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); the Science Citation Index and the Social Science Citation Index (1900-present for both); and the Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).