Biomedical Engineering: Writing, Citing & Plagiarism

Need Help?
Ask Us!

Engineering Style

A variety of different 'styles' are used for engineering publications. The style you use will depend on what your professor or publisher prefers, which may be specific to a publication or area of engineering.  Marquette Libraries provides access to RefWorks, a web-based citation manager which can format citations and bibliographies in the style of most engineering publishers. See the RefWorks information elsewhere on this page.

Why Cite?

Academic integrity is a core value at Marquette.  One of the primary concerns of faculty is plagiarism by students. Knowing what plagiarism is and how to avoid it will prevent you from making costly mistakes.  Here are some resources for you to use:

RefWorks & Endnote Software

Citation or Reference managers are software products which can store and organize your references. In addition to the organizational benefits these products can help create bibliographies formatted in any style. Some can also create in-text citations or footnotes as you write your paper.

RefWorks

This Web-base citation manager allows you to create a personal database of book and/or article citations by importing references from online databases or text files. You can quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles. You can access your own RefWorks account anywhere on or off campus. Create your account at the Refworks' login screen.

RefWorks is provided to the Marquette community through MU Libraries' subscription to the service. For more information and helpful guides go to the Libraries' RefWorks information page

EndNote Web

This Web-based reference management tool allows you to create a personal database of references by importing citations from online databases or text files. You can organize references into folders, and quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles.

Endnote Web is provided free of charge to Marquette students and faculty as part of our subscription to Web of Science. If you don't have a personal Web of Science account, you can sign up for an Endnote Web account at myendnoteweb.com. You must be on campus in order to create an account. Once registered, you can access your Endnote Web account from on or off campus. You will need to login while on campus at least once every twelve months in order to maintain your account.

Other Style Manuals

The following publication styles are widely used in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. Check with your faculty member or publisher to verify if these are appropriate for your use.