Companions, Handbooks, and Guides: What are these things?

These reference works offer introductions to subjects, whether they be whole disciplines, prominent topics, or individual thinkers.

Need Help?

Ask us!

Companions, Handbooks, and Guides

These reference works are designed to give comprehensive introductions to their subjects. They are excellent when you are beginning a research project and need an intellectual map of how to proceed. They are also handy for answering questions as you go. Here are a few examples of each type; click on the links and take a look at the tables of contents:

Companions

A Companion to Plato by Hugh H. Benson (Editor)
Call Number: B395 .C64 2006 Memorial Level 1
Publication Date: 2006
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
The Physics Companion by Anthony C. Fischer-Cripps
Call Number: QC21.3 .F58 2003 Memorial Level 5
Publication Date: 2003
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Sociology of Religion by Richard K. Fenn (Editor)
Call Number: BL60 .B53 2001 Memorial Level 1
Publication Date: 2001
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Companion to Historiography by Michael Bentley (Editor)
Call Number: D13 .C626 1997 Raynor Reference
Publication Date: 1997
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Pocket Companion for Physical Examination and Health Assessment by Carolyn Jarvis; Pat Thomas (Illustrator); Kevin Strandberg (Photographer)
Call Number: RC76 .J374 2004 v Memorial Level 5
Publication Date: 2003
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.

Handbooks

The Oxford Handbook of Political Theory by John S. Dryzek; Bonnie Honig; Anne Phillips
Call Number: JA71 .O95 2006 Memorial Level 4 Upper
Publication Date: 2008
In print and online. Click on title for bibliographic record and access to e-version.
Disaster Nursing: A Handbook for Practice by Deborah S. Adelman; Timothy J. Legg
Call Number: RT108 .A34 2009 Memorial Level 5
Publication Date: 2008
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Handbook of Oral History by Thomas L. Charlton (Editor); et al.
Call Number: D16.14 .H36 2006 Memorial Level 2
Publication Date: 2006
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.
Victorian Literature Handbook by Alexandra Warwick (Editor); Martin Willis
Call Number: PR461 .V54 2008 Memorial Level 4 Reading Room
Publication Date: 2008
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.