Issues and Controversies: Article Search

Guide to finding information on alternative viewpoints on controversial issues.

Need Help?

Ask us!

Articles focusing on Controversial Issues

CQ Researcher from CQ Press This link opens in a new window
Articles on controversial issues. Pro/Con and bibliography sections.
Issues and Controversies@Facts.com from Facts On File This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contemporary issues and controversies. Multiple search methods.
This resource (in addition to CQ Researcher) is an EXCELLENT starting point for research on contemporary topics. September 25, 1995 to present.

Alternative Perspectives

Contemporary Women's Issues from Responsive Data Services, Inc. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global information on women in over 190 countries.
Extensive international coverage from 190 countries (all material is in English) is provided from mainstream periodicals and the alternative press
Ethnic NewsWatch from Proquest | Basic Search Tutorial This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press. Many articles in Spanish.

Newspaper Articles

Current News Sources in ProQuest from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 2000 state, regional, national and international news sources. Full text.
Includes: Chicago Sun Times, Chicago Tribune, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, New York Times, Star Tribune, Times of London, Wall Street Journal, Wisconsin State Journal. 1984 -
Nexis Uni from Lexis Nexis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers newspapers from around the world.
Formerly Lexis Nexis Academic Universe.
It includes regional, national, and international newspapers; magazines; wire services; business publications (trade journals, corporate annual reports, tax sources); legal resources (law reviews, court cases, briefs, federal and state codes); government documents; medical information (medical journals); and reference sources (directories, biographical information). Coverage varies by title; very good coverage from the early 1990s to present, with some coverage as early as the mid-1970s.

Science & Medical Issues

GenETHX from Georgetown Univ. This link opens in a new window
Covers the ethical, legal, and social implication of genetic and genomic research and its application.
GreenFILE from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of impact of human behavior on the environment.
Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. If you find an article you like, search Marqcat to see if MU subscribes to the journal you need.

See scholar.google.com/scholar/help.html for understanding your search results.