In This Guide:

Evaluating Websites

Lack of systematic quality control means critical evaluation of Web sites is crucial. When evaluating web resources, consider:

Authority: Is the author or site sponsor clearly identified? Can you find credentials and contact information?
Objectivity: Is the site's purpose clear? Is it directed toward a specific audience?
Coverage: Are the topics covered clear? In depth? Balanced? Are ideas and opinions backed up by evidence?
Accuracy: Are sources cited? Can you verify accuracy of facts and other information with other sources in the field?
Currency: Are the dates included in the website? Is the information current, or at least still relevant for the site's and your purpose?

Taken from: Ramage, Bean and Johnson. The Allyn and Becon Guide to Writing. 5th Ed. customized for Marquette University. Boston: Pearson Education, Inc., 2009: 602.

Philosophy: Phil Web Sites

A gateway and guide to research resources for PHILOSOPHY--especially e-resources.

All Purpose 'Mega" Philosophy Websites

PhilPapers
A comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers; monitors journals in many areas of philosophy as well as archives and personal pages.
Voice of the Shuttle : Philosophy Page
A huge site, well organized.
Philosophy Pages
Philosophy resources on the Western tradition organized by a professor what has taught philosophy for 25 years.
The Daily Idea
Links to hundreds of free online philosophy resources (including articles, podcasts, and videos), philosophy course syllabi, and philosophy reading lists on over 100 different philosophical topics.
Philosophical Installations
1588 Philosophy videos all in one place -- free for non-commercial use; searchable by philosopher's name or by philosophical topic.
Philosophy Compass
This online journal covers the entire discipline of philosophy and publishes original, peer-reviewed, state-of-the-art surveys of current research. It helps you to navigate the field by laying out the territory and identifying the major issues.
Ask Philosophers
Questions relating to philosophy are answered by professional philosophers.
The InPhO Project = The Indiana Philosophy Ontology project (U. of Indiana)
A dynamic computational ontology for the discipline of philosophy constructed from the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy, PhilPapers, and the HathiTrust/Google Books Collection-- offering a variety of navigation and research tools.

Several Subject Focused Websites

Chinese philosophy

Essential Readings on Chinese Philosophy
Compiled by Dr. Bryan W. Van Norden, professor in the Philosophy Dept. who also teaches in the Dept of Chinese & Japanese at Vassar College.

Ethics

Ethics Updates Homepage
Designed primarily to be used by ethics instructors and their students. It is intended to provide updates on current literature, both popular and professional, that relate to ethics.
Markkula Center for Applied Ethics
Located at Santa Clara University and dedicated to research and dialogue on ethical issues in critical areas of American life. The focus is on business, health care and biotechnology, character education, government, global leadership, technology, and emerging issues in ethics. Includes articles, cases, briefings, and dialogues in all field of applied ethics.
National Catholic Bioethics Center
National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature

Islamic / Arab Philosophy

Islamic Philosophy Online
Dedicated to the study of the philosophical output of the Muslim World. This site contains many full-length books and articles on Islamic philosophy, ranging from the classical texts in the canon of Islamic philosophy to modern works.

Medieval Studies (including Medieval Philosophy)

Philosophy of Mind

Philosophy of Mind (PhilPapers)

Philosophy of Religion

Philosophy of Religion

Philosophy of Science

PhilSci Archive

Current Philosophy Job Listings

Click to see listings
Presented by the American Philosophical Association and the PhilPapers Foundation. Allows limiting searches to "tenure track," "senior faculty," "limited term/postdocs;" offers other search options.