Compiling documents from archives and libraries around the world, this collection captures the lives, experiences and colonial encounters of people living at the edges of the Anglophone world from 1650-1920. The geographical spread of material includes North America, Africa, Australia and New Zealand.
Includes the United Kingdom’s Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices’ confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966. Topics addressed range from the French occupation of Algeria in the nineteenth century to Mussolini’s conquest of Ethiopia.
British Government documents from the National Archives UK give access to the history of South Africa’s apartheid regime. Included are letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists’ biographies, first-hand accounts of events, and more.
This series consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the United States' diplomatic post in Liberia. The topics covered by these records include all aspects of relations with Liberia, and interactions of American citizens with the Liberian government and people.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
A digital resource for the study of the letter and its place in the rich writing cultures of the eighteenth century. Database includes 79,254 letters and documents and 10,232 correspondents as of Spring 2022.
Full-text digital reproductions of primary documents relating to the British Empire. 1492-1969.
Documents are organized under five themes: Cultural Contacts, c. 1492-1969; Empire Writing & the Literature of Empire; the Visible Empire; Religion & Empire; and Race, Class & Colonialism, c. 1783-1969.
Collections I and II: full-text primary source periodicals, 160+ journals from Early British Periodicals and 300+ journals from English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts. Fully searchable text. Topics covered: literature, arts, social sciences. 17th-19th centuries.