SOWJ 2300: Articles

Restorative Justice and Conflict Resolution

Need Help?

Ask Us!

Find Articles @ MU: Sociology & Social Welfare Databases

When entering a search in a database, try entering 2 or more keywords that represent the main concepts of your topic, connecting them with the word AND. For example: "restorative justice AND crime." When you find a relevant article, look at its subject headings and click on those for more articles.

Social Sciences in ProQuest from Proquest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, with some full-text of sources in social science. 1986-present.
Sociological Abstracts from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and some full-text for the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers. Includes Social Services Abstracts. Dates of coverage: 1952-present.
SAGE Journals Online from Sage This link opens in a new window
Searches full text articles of SAGE journals (approximately 900 titles). Emphasis on the health and social sciences. 1982 - present.

Find Articles @ MU: Criminology & Political Science

Criminal Justice Abstracts from Ebsco This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of international sources relating to criminal justice. 1968-present.
NCJRS Abstracts Database from National Criminal Justice Reference Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts over 220,000 publications and governmental sources dealing with the criminal justice system.
NCJRS is a collection of clearinghouses supporting all bureaus of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, as well as the Office of National Drug Control Policy. Includes bibliographic citations and abstracts of Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research with occasional links to full text sources. Early 1970's to present.
PAIS Index from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for a wide range of documents related to current events, public policy, and social sciences. 1972 to present.
Indexes books, pamphlets, and publications of the U.S. government and of international organizations, in addition to selected articles in 1400 periodicals.
Political Science Database from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains political science, public policy, and international relations scholarly journals; recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics; working papers; country reports (EIU); conference proceedings, policy papers and other sources. Dates of coverage: 1985 – present.

Other Criminology databases
You can find a complete list of Criminology databases here.
Other Political Science databases
You can find a complete list of Political Science databases here.

Find Articles @ MU: Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Complete from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Searches 7000+ journals and magazines across all disciplines, mostly full-text. Emphasis on scholarly journals. 1985 - present.
ProQuest Research Collections from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches full-text of 7000+ journals and magazines across disciplines. Includes general interest, news publications, and scholarly journals. Late 1980s - present.
Proquest Research Collections is made up of several Proquest collections: AltPress Watch, Genderwatch, ProQuest: Asian Business and Reference, Biology Journals, Computing, Criminal Justice Journals, Education Journals, European Business, Health and Medical Complete, Medical Library, Military Collection, Psychology Journals, Religion, Research Library, Science Journals, Social Science Journals, and Telecommunications.
JSTOR from JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Broad collection of full-text scholarly journals (approximately 2700 titles). Discipline coverage uneven and usually does not include the most-recent three years.

Find Articles @ MU: Newspapers

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel (1990 to date), Milwaukee Journal (1844-1909, 1921 – 1990) and Milwaukee Sentinel (1844-1865; 1910-1990) from Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Full-text of major current and historical Milwaukee newspapers
Newspaper Source Plus from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of 1,000+ newspapers from the US, UK, and Canada. Also transcripts of major TV and radio news programs.
Specific newspapers covered in the collection include: The New York Times, The Washington Post, Boston Globe, The London Times, The Atlanta Constitution, Indianapolis Star, and the Times (London). Coverage varies by title. Earliest coverage begins mid-1700s.