Searches business publications; includes company, country, and industry reports. Good coverage of scholarly business publications. Mostly 1984 - present.
In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 1,570 journals. This database contains popular business publications such as Business Week, Forbes, and Harvard Business Review, and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. Also included is Wall Street Words, a dictionary of financial terms, linked directly to words within the citations and full text. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.
Brief profiles of 181 countries. Includes some cultural information appropriate for travelers.
Includes 25 categories such as Land & Climate, People, Customs & Courtesies, Lifestyle, Society, History, Religion, Family, and Economy. Also has multimedia content such as typical greetings and the national anthem.
The Doing Business website from the World Bank and International Finance Corporation provided rankings about business climate, or the ease of "doing business", in countries until September 2021. The program was then discontinued due to questions about the integrity of the methodology. World Bank is developing a new approach for assessing business climate in countries, tentatively called Business Enabling Environment (BEE).
Database of data and information about countries and consumer industries. Includes: economic and social data for ~200 countries; market research reports for ~80 countries; company profiles. We do NOT subscribe to the Sustainability module. Video demo on how to search in Passport.
Economic and social indicator data redistributed from IMF, UN, World Bank, OECD. Annual data only.
Via in Ebsco's Business Source Premier database. Longer (40-70+ pages) profiles of 100 countries, developed and developing only. These profiles are great for information about the political scene, and the economy.
From Ernst & Young. "The chapters in this guide provide at-a-glance information, as well as details on the taxes on corporate income and gains, determination of trading income, other significant taxes, miscellaneous matters (including foreign-exchange controls, debt-to-equity rules, transfer pricing, controlled foreign companies and antiavoidance legislation) and treaty withholding tax rates."