HIST 4120/5120 - American Immigration: Web Sites and Primary Sources

Need Help?

Ask us!

Report access issues here →

Introductions and Overviews

From the Library of Congress
Be sure to use the Table of Contents on the bottom of the screen.
Migration Policy Institute
Note the "Related Articles" in the right column.
Pew Research Hispanic Project
Be sure to scroll down to the Topics box and explore its contents.
American Immigration Center - Wisconsin
New Americans in Wisconsin.
The Political and Economic Power of Immigrants, Latinos, and Asians in the Badger State.

Digital Collections

Latino Cultures in the U.S.
Collections and information on culture, art, the LGBTQ experience, influential figures, and the importance of Latino history and culture in the United States
Hispanic Reading Room
The Hispanic Reading room provides access to archival collections on literature, the government and military, and history and culture
Onda Latina
The Onda Latina Collection consists of 226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos"

Primary Source Databases

American History, 1493-1945 from Adam Matthew This link opens in a new window
Brings to life American History from the times of the earliest settlers until the end of World War II.
Border and Migration Studies from Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
Historical background on thirty plus worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others.
Migration to New Worlds from Adam Matthew This link opens in a new window
Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. - See more at: http://www.migration.amdigital.co.uk/Introduction/NatureAndScope#sthash.U9neRHd5.dpuf
Los Angeles Times 1881-1991 from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive 1881-1988.
New York Times (1851-2015) from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and images; in PDF format. 1851-2015.
Race Relations in America from Adam Matthew This link opens in a new window
Taken from the records of the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries, this resource provides access to documents highlighting different responses to the challenges of overcoming prejudice, segregation and racial tensions.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online from Gale This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text of declassified documents from many U.S. governmental agencies. 1945 into the 1990s.
Includes records of the Cabinet, National Security Council, CIA, State Department, and Joint Chiefs of Staff, among others.

Latin American Network Information Center

LANIC Homepage
LANIC at the University of Texas Austin is one of the most important academic research institutes studying Latin America. Look at the Overviews and Introductions above before you jump in here.
Mexico--LANIC