Research Guides: Islamic History: Secondary Sources

Milwaukee Public Library

The Milwaukee Public Library, located on 8th and Wisconsin Avenue, has great resources that are available to Marquette University students. Check out the link to their catalog below. (Note: some resources require a library card # and pin #; Marquette students are eligible for library cards)

CountyCat

UWM Golda Meir Library

The Golda Meir Library, located on University of Wisconsin- Milwaukee's campus, has a large collection of materials related to Middle Eastern studies. Check out their catalog: Search@UW and borrow materials using the Infopass service.

Recommended Texts

The Venture of Islam: Conscience and History in a World Civilization
By Marshall G. S. Hodgson. Volume 1- The classical age of Islam. Volume 2- The expansion of Islam in the middle periods. Volume 3- The gunpowder empires and modern times. Electronic and print versions available
Orientalism
By Edward W. Said
Islam: The Straight Path
By John Esposito. Revised 3rd edition
Research Papers in History (5th ed.)
By Francis Paul Prucha

Databases

ABZU from Etana This link opens in a new window
Guide to open access information on the Ancient Near East and Mediterranean world.
Historical Abstracts from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
The standard indexing service for academic historical writings on all areas of the world, except the United States and Canada. Covers items published from 1972 to present.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Index of primarily academic research on the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa, covering 1900 to the present. Contains some full-text.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Access limited to 1 user at a time. Full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on major topics about Islam; English interpretations of the Qur'an; primary source documents, images and maps; and more.
more...less...
Includes material from several reference works including: Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, The Oxford History of Islam, and What Everyone Needs to Know About Islam.

PAIS Index from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for a wide range of documents related to current events, public policy, and social sciences. 1972 to present.
Indexes books, pamphlets, and publications of the U.S. government and of international organizations, in addition to selected articles in 1400 periodicals.
Dissertations and Theses Global from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Extensive North American coverage, lesser European coverage. Full-text availability varies by author's permission.

Journals

Books

Library of Congress's Classification Outline
Try browsing in the stacks in Memorial Library. Use the Library of Congress's Classification Outline to tell you the appropriate call number ranges. For example, books on Turkey have call numbers beginning with DR401 to DR741.
Book Locations
Find these books in Memorial Library using this chart to Book Locations.

Try a Subject search in MARQCAT on the name of a country combined with one of the following four categories:

history
politics and government
social life and customs
foreign relations

History is a narrower term for the Library of Congress than it is for most historians. For LC it tends to be wars and revolutions. All four categories together encompass what historians usually mean by history.

Follow these steps:

1. Go to the MARQCAT Box immediately below.

2. Click on the dropdown arrow by the window on the left and select Subject.

3. In the window on the right enter the name of a country, such as turkey, followed by one of the four other terms noted above, for example: turkey history. There are many subject headings, including byzantine empire and ottoman empire.

4. Click on Submit.

Refine your search by exploring the subject headings under your topic.