Background on Testing & MeasurementTests for Children, Adults, Family IssuesTests for Health IssuesTests for Psychiatry, Disorders, Mental Health IssuesTests for Social, Cultural, Educational Issues
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Psychological Tests and Measures  Tags: assessment psychology testing measurement  

Need an assessment tool? This guide will help you identify tools to assess various conditions and obtain a copy to use.
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/tests-measures  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Start Here             Print Page
  

Quick Links

In addition to the Library links in the banner area of this page, here are some useful sources:

Need Help?

IM a Librarian:
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian:
Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556

Email a Librarian:
Email the Information Desk at
askus@marquette.edu

Request an Appointment:
Research Consultation

Stop by In-person:
Service Hours

 
 

Welcome

This guide is to assist you in finding tests and other measurement tools as well as information about assessment and measurement. The word 'tests' is often used throughout the literature as a catch-all term to refer to many types of measurement tools, i.e. surveys, questionnaires, scales, inventories, interviews, etc.

Follow the tabs above to locate a variety of sources. If you have questions check out the Need Help? box to contact a librarian by IM, phone, email, or live chat 24/7. Feel free to leave comments or suggestions via the comments links on these pages

 

Understanding Assessment

'Tests and measures' are assessment tools, such as questionnaires, inventories and scales, designed to measure or gauge some quality, knowledge, need, behavior, or trend.  They are used for diagnosis, research, and assessment in psychology, education, and other social science and health disciplines.

Before choosing and administering a test you should understand the principles, guidelines and ethics that pertain to the use of assessment tools.  A few sources to begin this background building are:

  • Comprehensive handbook of psychological assessment
    Call Number: Raynor Ref. BF 176 .C654 2004 v.1-4
    ISBN/ISSN: 0471416126
    Essential information on the four major classes of psychological assessment instruments including intelligence/neuropsychological; personality (both objective and projective); behavioral; and industrial/organizational.
  • Encyclopedia of psychological assessment
    Call Number: Raynor Ref. BF 176 .E56 2003
    ISBN/ISSN: 0761954945
    Contains over 235 entries, organized alphabetically, and covering a variety of fields. Each entry includes a general conceptual and methodological overview, a section on relevant assessment devices, followed by links to related concepts in the Encyclopedia and a list of references.
  • Handbook of Psychological Assessment
    Call Number: BF176 .G76 2003
    ISBN/ISSN: 0471419796
    A guide to conducting comprehensive psychological evaluations. Reviews the most commonly used assessment instruments and methods for selecting and administering tests, evaluating data, and conveying results in written reports.
  • Encyclopedia of Statistics in Behavioral Science
    Using assessment tools generates data. Responsible and effective use of that data requires understanding the principles of statistics. This source provides background on theory as well as practical examples.
  • Testing and Assessment - American Psychological Association
    APA's website for centralized information on testing including FAQs, standards for testing, testing governance, rights and responsibilities of test takers, testing information clearinghouse, and links to other information.
  • Books about Testing and Measurement
    For more books about testing and measurement, see the 'General' page in the 'Books about..' tab. For books about and with measurement tools in specific demographic or topical areas, see the drop-down list on that tab
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImagePat Berge
Contact Info:
Research & Instructional Services
Raynor Memorial Libraries
phone: 414-288-5214
email me

Subjects:
psychology, engineering, physics

 

Your Turn

What's good...and not so good

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait