test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

Quotations 

Use these guides to find a quote on any subject or to identifiy the source of one your already have.
Last update: Jul 31st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/quotations  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Standard and Popular             Print Page
  

Quick Links

Need Help?

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian: 414.288.7556

Email a Librarian

Research Consultation

 
 

Standard, Online, and Popular

Bartlett's Familiar Quotations
The complete text of the 9th edition, published in 1901. Especially good for the 18th and 19th centuries.

Columbia World of Quotations
Published in 1996, this comprehensive resource contains over 65,000 quotations from more than 5,000 authors and speakers.

 

Standard, in Print, and Popular

Bartlett's Familiar Quotatons: A Collection of Passages, Phrases, and Proverbs Traced to Their Sources in Ancient and Modern Literature
   Raynor Reference  PN6081 .B27 2002b

The Home Book of Quotations, Classical and Modern, Selected and Arranged by Burton Stevenson
   Raynor Reference  PN 6081 .S73 1967

A Dictionary of Literary Quotations
   Raynor Reference  PN6081 .S728 1990

The Columbia Granger's Dictionary of Poetry Quotations
   Raynor Reference  PN 6082 .C57 1992   

 

Standard, In Print, and Foreign-Language

Dictionary of Quotations (French and Italian)
   Raynor Reference  PN6086 .H3 1958

Dictionary of Quotations (Spanish)
   Raynor Reference  PN 6095 .S5 H3 1958

Dictionary of Quotations (German)
   Raynor Reference  PN 6090 .D3

French Idions and Figurative Phrases, with  many Quotations
   Raynor Reference  PC 2460 .K4

 
 

All Reference, Not Just Encyclopedias etc.

For online reference resources of all kinds see Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, . . .

 

OED Word of the Day


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait