- Academic Search Complete from EBSCO
Provides full text for over 7,000 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and much more. Coverage varies by publication. Some full-text PDFs from 1985 to present
- Biographical Directory of the United States Congress 1774-2006 from GPO
Thumbnail biographies of everyone who has served in the House or Senate from 1774-1989.
- Black Literature Index from Chadwyck-Healey
Index to the Black Literature microfiche collection. This index allows users to search over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
- Black Studies Center from Chadwyck-Healey
The Black Studies Center is comprised of several databases including the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals, the full text of the Chicago Defender 1910-1975 an influential black newspaper, and Black Literature Index.
- Columbia International Affairs Online from CIAO
Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs.
- Congressional Masterfile from Congressional Information Service
Congressional Masterfile 1 indexes five major categories of U.S. congressional publications: congressional reports, published and unpublished hearings, documents, committee prints, and Senate executive reports and documents. Covers 1789-1969.
- CountryReports from Milwaukee Public Library
This resource is available to all residents of Milwaukee, including Marquette students who reside on or near campus. You must have a valid Milwaukee Public Library card and personal identification number (PIN) to gain free access to this subscription database.
- CQ MoneyLine from Congressional Quarterly
Tracks the flow of money in politics. Includes political parties, candidates, action committees, lobbyists and more.
- CQ Researcher from CQ Press
Contains full text articles on controversial current events and social, political, economic, and international issues. Each issue includes topic summaries, historical perspectives, recent developments, opposing viewpoints, and sources for additional research. This resource is an EXCELLENT starting point for research on contemporary topics. 1960 to present.
- CQ Voting and Elections Collection from CQ Press
Contains data, analyses, explanations, and historical material related to presidential, congressional, gubernatorial, campaigns, political parties, voters and demographics.
- CultureGrams: World Edition from Axiom Press
Brief information on the cultures in 181 countries. Includes 25 categories such as Land & Climate, People, Customs & Courtesies, Lifestyle, Society, History, Religion, Family, and Economy. Also has multimedia content such as typical greetings and the national anthem. Current information only.
- Declassified Documents Reference System from Gale
This resource publishes declassified documents from a host of U.S. government agencies as they are released. It has become a key tool for scholars researching the U. S. after World War II in disciplines such as International Relations, Political Science, History, and Economics. Its over 78,000 documents contain records of the Cabinet, National Security Council, CIA, State Department, and Joint Chiefs of Staff, among others.
- Dissertations and Theses from ProQuest
Contains records for more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Extensive coverage of North American graduate schools, with coverage of some European universities beginning in 1989. Includes bibliographic records of dissertations written in the UK and Ireland from 1716, with full abstracts, for titles from 1986. SEE ALSO: Marquette Dissertations
- General Social Survey from National Opinion Research Center
- Handbook of Latin American Studies from Library of Congress
Annotated bibliography of material relating to Latin America covering anthropology, art, economics, education, geography, government, history, international relations, language and literature, law, music, philosophy, sociology, and travel. Each volume also contains special articles on particular phases of life and culture or inter-American relations. This online version is available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
- Harris Poll from Louis Harris & Assoc.
Poll results fromt he 1980's in the areas of economy, education, entertainment, environment, health, international affairs, marketplace, media, politics, science and technology, social and lifestyle issues.
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers - 19th Century from Chadwyck-Healey
HCPP includes the full text of all the papers issued by the British House of Commons between 1801 and 1945. Keyword searching of the full text is possible, as is queries limited to standard fields in the bibliographic entries. Hyperlinks lead searchers to related documents.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) from ICPSR
NOTE: you must create a "MyData" account in order to retrieve data.
Abstracts, longitudinal studies, project overviews, data collection instruments, and descriptions of variables found in the dataset. Most datasets and documentation can be downloaded, from on campus computers, for research and personal use.
- Issues and Controversies@Facts.com from Facts On File
This full-text database contains in-depth and balanced articles dealing with contemporary issues and controversies. Keyword and subject searching is available as well as being able to browse by topic. A list of current hot topics is provided.
- Journal Citation Reports - Science & Social Sciences from ISI
This unique multidisciplinary resource presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to determine the relative importance of journals within their subject categories, including highest impact journals, most frequently used journals, ‘hottest’ journals, and largest journals.
- JSTOR from JSTOR
Full-text back files of nearly 400 of the most important journals in Business, Ecology, Economics, Finance, Management, History, Mathematics, Political Science, Population Studies, Language, Literature and Science. Entire text of each journal is searchable.
- Lexis Nexis Academic: Quick Links
- Lexis Nexis Academic from Lexis Nexis
Features a rich variety of full text sources providing up-to-date information on current events, business, law, and medicine. For links to specific parts of Lexis Nexis Academic, see links below.
- Lexis Nexis Congressional -- See: ProQuest Congressional
- Making of Modern Law from Gale
The Making of Modern Law is the result of digitizing Nineteenth Century Legal Treatises and Twentieth Century Legal Treatises collections. It includes nearly 10 million pages of legal history from America and Britain in more than 21,000 works from casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches and more - separated into 99 subject areas. Individual titles are linked in MARQCAT.
- Military & Government in EBSCO from EBSCO
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Includes periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the Military and Government. Cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
- OECD iLibrary from OECD
A portal to the publications of the OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development), an international, non-governmental organization that studies and helps to formulate economic and social policy.
- Oxford Handbooks Online - Political Science from Oxford Univ. Press
Twelve full text handbooks covering the major topics in Political Science.
- Parliamentary Papers - House of Commons -- See: House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
- Peace Research Abstracts from EBSCO
Includes bibliographic citations covering areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas relevant to the discipline.
- Policy Central from National Journal Group
A multi-dimensional resource on politics and policy.
- Polling the Nations from ORS Publishing
Access limited to 1 user at a time
Database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 400,000 questions and responses from 14,000 surveys conducted by 700 polling organizations since 1986 in the U. S. and 80 other countries. Questions are individually indexed in one of 4,500+ topics and six search fields: topic, question text, universe, polling organization and response categories. 1986 to present.
- Project Muse from Muse
Full-text access to more than 400 journals from nearly 100 publishers. Project Muse emphasizes prestigious humanities and social science journals. Other disciplines included are political science, film, theatre, and performing arts. List of Project Muse Titles
. Coverage varies by title.
- ProQuest Central from ProQuest
Multidisciplinary database with 11,000+ titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
- ProQuest Congressional (formerly Lexis Nexis Congressional) from ProQuest
Includes text and status of Congressional bills; information about members of Congress and their districts, text of prepared statements before Congressional hearings, text of National Journal articles, and text of Congressional Record and Federal Register. Analysis of appropriate bills gives information about relevant public policies. Click on "Publications" button to get online version of CIS/Index. Index coverage is 1970 to present. Full text coverage varies.
- ProQuest Research Collections from ProQuest
Enhanced indexing, abstracts and selected full text or full images of articles in a wide range of magazines and journals from numerous disciplines. Includes general interest and news publications as well as selected scholarly journals. Includes bibliographic citations and abstracts of periodical articles; some full text and full image articles. Coverage varies by title with good coverage for late 1980's to present, some earlier coverage.
- SAGE Journals Online from Sage
SAGE Journals Online brings together journals from the following subject areas: Health Scineces; Life and Biomedical Sciences; Materials Science and Engineering; Social Sciences and Hummanities. Coverage varies by title but most journals are 1982 to present.
- Social Sciences Variables Database from I.C.P.S.R.
Through funding from the National Science Foundation, ICPSR has created a Social Science Variables Database (SSVD) that enables searching across studies at the variable level. List of studies in the SSVD
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive from Gale
The Times Literary Supplement online archive contains the complete text (in image format) of this primary source of twentieth-century British cultural and literary history. Search features include author, book title, reviewer, subject, and date. Covers 1902 to 2007.
- United Nations Treaty Collection from United Nations
Access to multinational treaties compiled under the auspices of the United Nations. Current treaties are includes as well as some treaties dating from the beginning of the United Nations.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive from Vanderbilt
Extensive index of television news indexing more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
- Wisconsin Bluebooks from Univ. of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Contains the constitutions of the United States and of the State of Wisconsin; Jefferson's manual; rules and orders of the Senate and Assembly, and annals of the Legislature; profiles of state officials, senators, and representatives; also, statistical tables and history of state institutions.
- World Development Indicators (WDI Online) from The World Bank
Numeric time series data only. Social and economic indicator data in annual time series for 208 economies, and 18 regional and income groups.
- World News Connection from ProQuest
2006-present (some coverage from 2003 to present)
A Foreign News Service from the U.S. Government. Provides full-text English language articles regarding current world affairs (i.e., military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events, etc.)
- World Newspaper Archive—African Newspapers from Newsbank
The World Newspaper Archive contains major newspapers from Africa.
- World Newspaper Archive—Latin American Newspapers from Newsbank
The World Newspaper Archive will ultimately offer online full-text access to major newspapers from Africa, Latin America, Asia, and Central and Eastern Europe. It opens with part of its collection from Latin America, including papers from Chile, Argentina, Brazil, and Mexico. When complete it will offer 35 papers with long publishing histories from the 19th and 20th centuries.