This is the "Start Here" page of the "Physics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physics   Tags: astronomy, biophysics, physics  

Last Updated: Feb 10, 2012 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/physics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Did Hippies Saved Physics?

This could be a fun read over the holiday break.  Listen to the Dec 16th interview with the author on Wisconsin Public Radio or visit his web site.  The Libraries have a copy on order. Read an excerpt in Scientific American here.

Cover Art
How the Hippies Saved Physics - David Kaiser, MIT
Call Number: On Order
Publication Date: 2011
For physicists, the 1970s were a difficult time. Jobs became scarce, research funds dried up, and students no longer flocked to the subject. Caught off-guard as physicists’ postwar boom years turned to bust, a small group banded together to carve out a new role for the physicist.

 

Need Help?

 

IM from your service:
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian:
414.288-7556

Email a Librarian:
askus@marquette.edu

Request an Appointment:
Research Consultation

Stop by In-person:
Service Hours

 

Astronomy.com

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding

Top Article Databases

Databases provide a systematic method of searching for articles and other documents on your topic. Some databases to start research are:

  • IEEE/IEE Xplore (Electronic Library) from IEEE
    Access limited to 15 users at a time
    IEL through IEEExplore includes roughly one third of the world’s publications in electrical engineering, electronics and computer science. Also includes bibliographic citations, abstracts and full text (pdf) files of IEEE periodical articles, conference proceeding papers and standards and IEE periodical articles and conference papers. 1986 to present.
  • INSPEC from Ovid  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Indexes over 4,000 international journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. 1969 to present.
  • More Databases
    For more databases and information on finding and using articles see the 'Articles' tab above.
 

QuickSearch Science/Technology

Use this to conduct a quick, basic search across a few science/technology databases.  Use the individual database search interfaces above or on the Articles tab to conduct more thorough search.

Quick Search in Science & Technology Article Databases
for: 

 

 

 

PhysicsWorld from IOP

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
 

Physics Today

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
 

PMC Biophysics

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Pat Berge
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info
Research & Instructional Services
Raynor Memorial Libraries
phone: 414-288-5214
email me
 

Scientific American - Physics

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
 

APS Journals

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2012 Marquette University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip