This is the "Physical Activity" page of the "Physical Activity" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physical Activity  

Last Updated: Apr 29, 2010 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/physical Print Guide Email Alerts
Physical Activity Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
100 Questions & Answers About Sports Nutrition and Exercise
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 TX361.A8 M374 2011

Cover Art
ACSM's Complete Guide to Fitness and Health
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RA781 .C575 2011

Cover Art
Fundamental Weight Training
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 3 GV546 .S26 2010

Cover Art
Hatha Yoga Illustrated
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RA781.7 .K548 2006

Cover Art
Mayo Clinic Fitness for Everybody
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RA781 .M339 2005

Cover Art
Physical Activity and Health : the Evidence Explained
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RM725 .H337 2009

Cover Art
Standing Pilates : Strengthen and Tone Your Body Wherever you Are
Call Number: eBook
Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Cover Art
The Complete Guide to Pregnancy and Fitness
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RG558.7 .C68 2012

Cover Art
The Official Gold's Gym Beginner's Guide to Fitness
Call Number: eBook
Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Cover Art
The Seven Spiritual Laws of Yoga
Call Number: eBook
Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

  


 

Welcome

This guide includes selected resources with information to help you be (or remain!) more physically active.  Please contact Martha Jermé if you have comments, questions or suggestions.

 

Three Minute Office Workout

Sitting for long periods of time is associated with increased cardiovascular disease and all causes of death, even among people who are physically active.  Here are a few ideas to get you moving right at your desk.

Katzmarzyk, P. T., Church, T. S., Craig, C. L., & Bouchard, C. (2009). Sitting time and mortality from all causes, cardiovascular disease, and cancer. Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise, 41(5), 998-1005.

 

Web Sites

American College of Sports Medicine - Access Public Information
Includes physical activity guidelines, exercise-related brochures, keys to exercise success, etc.

American Council on Exercise - Get Fit
Includes an exercise library of tutorials, workouts, product reviews, and healthy recipes.

American Heart Association - Physical Activity
Provides tips for exercise success, a BMI calculator, strength and stretching illustration sheets, and other resources.

Be Active Your Way
This resource from the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services provides guidance based on the 2008 Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans.

CDC - Physical Activity
Includes physical activity guidelines and tips on adding physical activity to your life.

Mayo Clinic - Fitness
Includes information on fitness basics, stretching and flexibility, aerobic exercise, strength training, and sports nutrition.

MedlinePlus - Exercise and Physical Fitness
Links to news and basic information, research, health check tools, and multimedia resources.

Physical Activity and Health
"A Report of the Surgeon General."

President's Council on Fitness, Sports & Nutrition
Take the adult fitness test, access Council publications, and link to other resources.

Shape Up America!
Includes information on nutrition and exercise.

 

Databases

Consumer Health Complete
Includes evidence-based reports, encyclopedias and other reference books, pamphlets, news, drug and herb information, images and diagrams, and videos and animations on diseases, conditions, and procedures. 
Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Includes the full-text of almost 80 consumer health magazines, over 1000 pamphlets, and over 130 health reference books.  Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.  Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Other Health Sciences Databases

 

MARQCATplus

Search for books, articles, images, DVDs, & more...

  


 

Be Active Your Way

 

Exercise Programs

Go Red for Women: BetterU
This free 12-week online nutrition and fitness program from the American Heart Association provides step-by-step guidance on physical activity, nutrition and stress management.

Let's Move
This nation-wide campaign is intended to reduce childhood obesity.

President's Challenge
Options include Active Lifestyle, Presidential Champions, and group programs.

Start!
This American Heart Association walking program will help you develop your own personalized walking plan, track your progress, and connect with others in the area interested in participating in the program.

 

 

DVDs

Daily Energy : Vinyasa Flow Yoga
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RA781.7 .D35 2009

Yoga for Beginners
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RA781.7 .Y643 2008

  


Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2013 Marquette University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip