Offers full-page-images and article images from the New York times from its first issue in 1851 to three years before the current date. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
The Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
The Beazley Archive is a research unit of the University of Oxford's Faculty of Literae Humaniores. This web site provides access to photographs, notes, drawings and books relating to ancient Greek and Roman art.
At the invitation of the Museum With No Frontiers, 14 countries from around the Mediterranean and the European Union have agreed to collaborate on producing a virtual museum on the Internet that explores Islamic art and material culture in the Mediterranean region.
More than 400,000 high-resolution digital images of public domain works in the Museum’s world-renowned collection may be downloaded directly from the Museum’s website for non-commercial use—including in scholarly publications in any media—without permission from the Museum and without a fee.
Access limited to 1 user at a time.
Provides access to The Dictionary of Art, with over 45,000 signed articles and images on every aspect of the visual arts. Content updated 3x/year. Includes several other art reference works.
Sources: The Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (print edition: 1996, 34 vols.); The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001); The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism and Romanticism periods (1100-1850), currently containing over 19.300 reproductions.
The CRDL is a collection of various multimedia and artifacts dating from the 1950s through the 1960s. The project is a collaboration between the University of Georgia and various librarians, technologists, archivists, educators, scholars, academic publishers, and public broadcasters.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
The Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress houses extensive collections of digitized photographs, illustrations, and ephemera from important events in American history. Also included in this collection is the Look Magazine Archives.
The LIFE photo archive contains millions of images from one of America's most enduring and historic publications, LIFE Magazine. Images include celebrities, politicians, public figures, and various other subjects.
Washington D.C.'s Smithsonian Institution offers a comprehensive digital repository with over 4.6 million records, including over 400,000 images, audio and video files, as well as offerings from their museums, archives and libraries.
Getty Images hosts this collection of images from the archives of Time and LIFE Magazines. Users may search images by subject, photographer, category, date, and region. All images included here contain a faint watermark and may not be used for commercial or promotional purposes without permission from Time, Inc.
The Digital Collections at the UWM Libraries include over 54,000 photographic images, maps, and books drawn from the collections of the American Geographical Society Library, the Archives, Special Collections, and the Curriculum Library.
The Musee du Louvre houses 35,000 works of art drawn from eight departments, displayed in over 60,000 square meters of exhibition space dedicated to the permanent collections. Explore the works on display, taking a thematic or cross-departmental approach.
The Metropolitan Museum's collection now contains more than two million works of art from all points of the compass, ancient through modern times. About 6,500 objects highlights from each of the Museum's curatorial departments can be accessed online.
The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.
Based on The index of Christian art, a thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval art objects to 1400 begun at Princeton University in 1917. The database contains works indexed by the archive since 1991. Over 8,000 images are presently available.