This is the "Mental Health" page of the "Mental Health" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mental Health  

Last Updated: Dec 19, 2011 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/mental_health Print Guide Email Alerts
Mental Health Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
Bipolar disorder : a guide for patients and families
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC516 .M64 2006


Cover Art
Coping with depression : from catch-22 to hope
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC537 .A44 2006

Cover Art
Demystifying psychiatry : a resource for patients and families
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC460 .Z76 2010


Cover Art
Eating disorders : the facts
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC552.E18 A27 2008


Cover Art
Managing your mind
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RA790 .B83 2007

Cover Art
Psychosis: Stories of Recovery and Hope
Call Number: Ordered 12/19/2011



Cover Art
The bipolar workbook : tools for controlling your mood swings
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 5 RC516 .B356 2006

Cover Art
The cult of thinness
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 1 BF697.5.B63 H47 2007



 

Welcome

"Mental illnesses are medical conditions that disrupt a person's thinking, feeling, mood, ability to relate to others and daily functioning.  Mental illnesses can affect persons of any age, race, religion, or income. Mental illnesses are treatable."  This guide includes selected resources that provide information on mental illness for patients, family members, and friends.  Please contact Martha Jermé if you have comments, questions or suggestions.

National Alliance on Mental Illness.  Retrieved June 29, 2010 from http://www.nami.org/Content/NavigationMenu/Inform_Yourself/About_Mental_Illness/About_Mental_Illness.htm

 

Web Sites

American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry - For Families
Includes a glossary, statistics, resource centers, expert videos, ParentsMedGuide, and a Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist Finder.

American Psychological Association
Topics include aging, anxiety, bipolar disorder, depression, and workplace issues.

Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance
Subject categories include In Crisis, Signs & Symptoms, Just Diagnosed, Recovery Steps, and Helping a Loved One.  Also includes information on support groups, "Find a Pro", and the DBSA Wellness Tracker.

HealthyMinds.org
Includes a blog, brochures, and other resources from the American Psychiatric Association covering the signs of mental disorders, treatment options, and prevention.

MedlinePlus: Mental Health and Behavior
Links to information on signs and symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, and coping for a broad range of mental health disorders.

Mental Health America
Includes information on mental health and disorders, getting help, and advocacy.

National Alliance on Mental Illness
Provides information on mental illnesses, programs and services for people with mental illness, and support groups for those affected by mental illness.

National Institute of Mental Health - Health Topics
Provides information on mental health disorders and their treatments.

National Mental Health Information Center
Includes online publications on mental health topics, a mental health services locator, and hotline numbers for English and Spanish language assistance.

MARQCAT

MARQCAT, the Marquette Libraries catalog, lists books, DVDs, videos, and CDs the library owns in print or electronic format.

To locate additional resources, enter relevant keywords, for example, depression, anxiety, schizophrenia, etc.

More search options

 

Dealing With Depression

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

DVDs

Acutely anxious
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RC531 .A28 2006

Cover Art
Depression : out of the shadows
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RC537 .D468 2008

Fear of fat : a documentary : eight stories of eating and weight
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RC552.E18 F43 2006

How does your memory work?
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RC394.M46 H69 2008

Minds on the edge : facing mental illness
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RA790.87 M55 2009

Cover Art
The Alzheimer's project
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RC523 .A594 2009

There is a bridge
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RC523 .T45 2007

Thin
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD RC552.E18 T456 2006

When I came home
Call Number: RAYNOR RESERVES - Video / DVD UB357 .W46 2006

 

Databases

Consumer Health Complete
Includes evidence-based reports, encyclopedias and other reference books, pamphlets, news, drug and herb information, images and diagrams, and videos and animations on diseases, conditions, and procedures. 
Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Includes the full-text of almost 80 consumer health magazines, over 1000 pamphlets, and over 130 health reference books.  Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.  Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Other Health Sciences Databases

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2013 Marquette University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip