This is the "Home" page of the "Nelson Mandela" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nelson Mandela  

Last Updated: Dec 10, 2013 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/mandela Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

MARQCAT Search

Need help searching?

 

Books--A Sampler

For more books search in our catalog using the box above.

Cover Art
Long Walk to Freedom : the autobiography of Nelson Mandela - Nelson Mandela
Call Number: DT1949.M35 A28 1994 Memorial Level 2
Publication Date: 1995
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic entry. There are two more editions of this book. To find them search on the title in MarqCat.
Nelson Mandela is one of the great moral and political leaders of our time: an international hero whose lifelong dedication to the fight against racial oppression in South Africa won him the Nobel Peace Prize and the presidency of his country.

Cover Art
Let Freedom Reign : the words of Nelson Mandela - André Brink (Foreword by); Nelson Mandela; Henry Russell (Editor)
Call Number: DT1974 .M295 2010 Memorial Level 2
Publication Date: 2010
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic entry.
This collection marks the 20th anniversary of Nelson Mandela's release from prison and analyzes the linguistic features, content and context of Mandela's speeches.

Cover Art
Cuba and Angola : fighting for Africa's freedom and our own - Fidel Castro; Rafael Castro; Nelson Mandela; Mary-Alice Waters (Introduction by)
Call Number: DT1428 .C37 2013 Memorial Level 2
ISBN: 1604880465
Publication Date: 2013
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic entry.
Twenty-five years ago, in March 1988, the army of South Africa's apartheid regime was dealt a crushing defeat by Cuban, Angolan, and Namibian combatants at the battle of Cuito Cuanavale in Angola. That triumph, South Africa's future president Nelson Mandela proclaimed, marked a milestone in the history of the struggle for southern African liberation.

Cover Art
The struggle is my life / [by] Nelson Mandela ; his speeches and writings brought together to mark his 60th birthday : also included are historical documents and a recent account of conditions on Robben Island - Nelson Mandela
Call Number: DT1949.M35 A5 1978 Memorial Level 2
Publication Date: 1978
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic entry.
Published by International Defence and Aid Fund for Southern Africa.

Cover Art
Playing the Enemy : Nelson Mandela and the game that made a nation - John Carlin
Call Number: DT1949.M35 C37 2008 Memorial Level 2
ISBN: 9781594201745
Publication Date: 2008
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic entry.
John Carlin, a former South Africa bureau chief for the London Independent, offers a singular portrait of the greatest statesman of our time in action, blending the volatile cocktail of race, sport, and politics to intoxicating effect.

Cover Art
Southern Africa : old treacheries and new deceits - Stephen Chan
Call Number: DT1182 .C43 2011 Memorial Level 2
ISBN: 9780300154054
Publication Date: 2011
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic entry.
In this timely and essential book, Stephen Chan explores the political landscape of southern Africa, examining how it's poised to change over the next years and what the repercussions are likely to be across the continent. He focuses on three countries in particular: South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Zambia.

 

Nelson Mandela

Image copied from Creative Commons/Images

 

Bill of Rights, Durban, South Africa

Image copied from Creative Commons/Images

 

Nelson Mandela in Jail on Robben Island

Image copied from Creative Commons/Images

 

1937

Image copied from Creative Commons/Images

 

Map of South Africa

Image copied from Creative Commons/Images

 

Video and Audio Recordings

The speeches of Nelson Mandela [videorecording] - Nelson Mandela
Call Number: DT1974 .S64 1995 Raynor Reserves; Viedo DVD
Publication Date: 1995
Click on title for bibliographic entry.
The speeches of Nelson Mandela offers a demonstration of his oratory prowess, from his long fight against apartheid, to his triumphant release from prison and ensuing political career

Mandela [DVD videorecording] : the living legend
Call Number: DT1974 .M35 2004 Raynor Reserves/Video DVD
Publication Date: 2004
Click on title for bibliographic entry.
A two part documentary by the BBC.

Learning to hate [videorecording] - Produced by Catherine Tatge and Dominique Lasseur
Call Number: BF575.H3 L42 2000 Raynor Reserves/Video DVD
Publication Date: 2000
Click on title for bibliographic entry.
Features interviews with Jimmy Carter, Nelson Mandela, Elie Wiesel, Vaclav Havel, Li Lu and Mairead Corrigan Maguire. Focuses on how children learn to hate, and how attitudes toward hatred differ from culture to culture.

 

Journal Articles

To find articles about Nelson Mandela search on his name in:

Historical Abstracts

Black Studies Center

Black Thought and Culture

 

More Sample Books

Cover Art
Mandela : a biography - Martin Meredith
Call Number: DT1974 .M474 2010 Memorial Level 2
ISBN: 9781586488321
Publication Date: 2010
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic entry.
This is an updated version of an earlier edition.

Cover Art
Young Mandela - David James Smith
Call Number: DT1974 .S658 2010 Memorial Level 2
ISBN: 0297858459
Publication Date: 2010
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic entry.

Cover Art
Mandela : a critical life - Tom Lodge
Call Number: DT1974 .L63 2006 Memorial Level 2
ISBN: 0192805681
Publication Date: 2006
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic entry.
Nelson Mandela, the first African politician to acquire a world following, remains in the 21st century an iconic figure. But what are the sources of his almost mythic appeal? And to what extent did Mandela self-consciously create the status of political hero that he now enjoys?

Cover Art
After Mandela : the 1999 South African elections - J. E. Spence, editor
Call Number: JQ1992 .A574 1999 Memorial Level 4 Upper
ISBN: 1862030499
Publication Date: 1999
As South Africans prepare to vote in their second post-apartheid elections. Professor Jack Spence of the Royal Institute of International Affairs has assembled a collection of expert essays assessing President Mandela's government and the landscape ahead under his probable successor Thabo Mbeki.

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2013 Marquette University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip