Diabetes Risk Test
Books
Welcome
Diabetes is a disease in which blood sugar (glucose) levels are too high. According to the National Center for Health Statistics, 10% of people age 20 and over in the U.S. have diabetes. Diabetes can cause serious health complications including heart disease, blindness, kidney failure, and lower-extremity amputations. This guide includes selected resources that provide information on diabetes for patients and family members. Please contact Martha Jermé if you have comments, questions or suggestions.
National Center for Health Statistics. (2010, January
18). Retrieved June 23, 2010 from http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/diabetes.htm
Dr. John D. Clark on WGN
Web Sites
American College of Physicians - Patients & Families - Diabetes
Provides guidance on diet, exercise, checking your blood sugar, and taking medications.
American Diabetes Association
Topics covered include diabetes basics, living with diabetes, and food and fitness.
CDC - Diabetes Public Health Source
Includes English and Spanish language information on diabetes.
Joslin Diabetes Center - Diabetes Information
Includes information on how to manage diabetes and avoid complications.
Mayo Clinic - Diabetes
Provides information on prevention, symptoms, causes, diagnosis, treatment, and complications.
MedlinePlus - Diabetes Mellitus
Links to information on type 1 and type 2 diabetes, diabetes in pregnancy, diabetes medicines, diabetic diet, etc.
National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse
Provides an overview of diabetes, treatments options, complications and prevention.
MARQCAT
MARQCAT, the Marquette Libraries catalog, lists books, DVDs, videos, and CDs the library owns in print or electronic format.
To locate additional resources, enter relevant keywords, for example, diabetes,insulin, etc.
Diabetes Information
DVDs
Databases
- Consumer Health Complete from EBSCOIncludes 550 full-text journals, over 250 health-related reference books, medical images, videos, and pamphlets. Topics include aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, etc.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition from EBSCO Provides full-text for over 80 health magazines, health-related pamphlets, and nearly 130 health reference books.
- Other Health Sciences Databases








Loading...
Loading...
