Why background?
Background sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals, etc.) provide summary and factual information. They generally contain well established information and can be used to:
• Explain concepts, processes and procedures
• Find or verify data, facts, formulas
• Identify and define special terms used to discuss the topics
• Discover the historical context and relationships to other topics
Related Sources
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management: Business ethics
Call Number: Raynor Ref HF 5387 .B55 2005
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology - Steven G. Rogelberg, ed.
Call Number: Ref HF 5548.8 .E498 2007
Encyclopedia of Management
Covers management theories and applications.
Handbooks & Encyclopedias
Engineering Design Methods - Strategies for Product Design
Provides an introduction to design, design methods and puts the methods into a wider context of managing the overall design within the business process of planning and developing new products.
Essentials of Project and Systems Engineering Management
Helps engineers and project managers across a broad range of industries successfully develop and manage a project team that, in turn, builds successful systems.
Financial and Economic Analysis for Engineering and Technology Management
Presents a rigorous analysis of accounting fundamentals and procedures, plus cost analysis is covered in an engineering context.
Global Project Management Handbook
Contributors from 20+ nations reveal how current project management concepts and techniques can be successfully applied in different political, cultural, and geographical settings.
Handbook of Systems Engineering and Management
Systems engineering and systems management for building systems of all types.
Lean Product Development Guidebook
Describes over two dozen methods for slashing development waste and improving resource utilization, spanning the full spectrum from inception to successful product launch.
Management of Technology: Managing Effectively in Technology-Intensive Organizations
Discusses cutting-edge manangement concepts, tools, and techniques that effectively work in today's technology intensive organizations.
PDMA Handbook of New Product Development
A complete picture of the information needed for effective product development. Describes all aspects of the topic from the creation of the concept through development and design to the final production, marketing, and service.Six Sigma Handbook
Call Number: Memorial Level 5 - TS155 .P799 2003
Whether you want to further your Six Sigma training to achieve a Black or Green Belt or you are totally new to the quality-management strategy, this book shows you, step by step, how to integrate this profitable approach into your company's culture.
Knovel Handbooks
Dozens of additional handbooks are available through the Knovel database. See search widget and tutorials at right.
Search Knovel Books
See Knovel tutorials for help.
Dictionaries
A Dictionary of business - John Pallister, Alan Isaacs (eds.)
3rd edition, 2002.
Dictionary of finance and investment terms - John Downes, Jordan Elliot Goodman
7th edition, 2006.- Dictionary of human resources and personnel management - A. Ivanovic, P.H. Collin
(2003)
Understanding American business jargon: a dictionary - W. Davis Folsom
Call Number: Raynor Ref HF 1001 .F65 2005
Description
Loading content... please wait


