Basic Science
- DNA From the Beginning An "animated primer on the basics of DNA, genes, and heredity" from Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
- Genomics.energy.gov Provides information on the Human Genome Project; medicine and genetics; ethical, legal and social issues; and educational resources. Includes Image Gallery.
- Genetics Home Reference Provides "consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health."
- NCBI Human Genome Resources Includes the reference DNA sequence of Homo sapiens, databases, a map viewer, etc.
- Naitonal Human Genome Research Institute Includes reports, funding information, educational resources, and more.
Need Help?
IM a Librarian
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443
Phone a Librarian
Call the Information Desk at 414.288-7556
Email a Librarian
Email the Infomation Desk at askus@marquette.edu
Clinical Genetics
- Cancer Genetics - National Cancer Institute Includes cancer genetics information for consumers and health care professionals.
- CDC Office of Public Health Genomics Content includes Genomics & Your Health, Family Health History, Genomics in Practice, and Prevalence Estimates.
- GeneCards Searchable database of human genes.
- Genome.gov - Health Includes information on genetic disorders and rare diseases for patients and health professionals from the National Human Genome Research Institute.
- March of Dimes - Genetics & Your Practice Content areas include genetic testing and screening, family health and social history, and referral to genetic services.
- National Newborn Screening & Genetics Resource Center Provides "information and resources in the area of newborn screening and genetics to benefit health professionals, the public health community, consumers and government officials.
- NIH Office of Rare Diseases Research Provides information on rare diseases, links to research and clinical trials, and links to advocacy groups.
Mega Sites
- Hardin MD - Genetic Disorders & Birth Defects Lists web sites that link to other sites with information on genetic disorders and birth defects. Many include pictures.
- Information for Genetic Professionals Links to clinical, research and educational genetics resources.
- MedlinePlus - Genetic Disorders Links to web sites with information on specific disorders, screening, research, etc.
- MedlinePlus - Genetic Testing Includes links to information on genetic testing for specific conditions, law and policy, etc.
Ethical, Legal, & Social Issues
- Council for Responsible Genetics Includes CRG's Genetic Bill of Rights, resources on genetics and race, gene myths, information on forensic use of DNA, and bi-monthly issues of GeneWatch.
- Ethical, Legal, Social Implications & Issues of Human Genome Project Includes links to many resources.
- Genetics & Public Policy Center This Johns Hopkins University Center explores social, ethical and legal concerns related to human genetics.
- Naitonal Information Resource on Ethics & Human Genetics Includes databases, educational resources, and bibliographies.
- National Human Genome Research Institute -Policy & Ethics "Critical issues and legislation surrounding genetic research."
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait