Evaluating Sources
APAChicago/TurabianCitation GeneratorsCSE/ CBEEVALUATING SOURCESMLANLM
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Criminology and Criminal Justice 

Last update: Jul 14th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/criminology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

QuickSearch Criminology/Sociology

Simultaneously search multiple online databases (MU Users)
for: 

 

E-JOURNALS

MARQCAT listing of Criminology online subscriptions. Select a title link to obtain full subscription information.

 

Finding Full-text of the Articles

IF YOU ALREADY HAVE A CITATION FOR AN ARTICLE:

  • Use MARQCAT. search by TITLE and enter the TITLE OF THE JOURNAL NOT the title or author of the article.

IF YOU ARE LOOKING AT CITATIONS WITHIN A DATABASE:

  • Use the  Findit@MU icon in the citation you are interested in. This will open another window and do one of two things

    • Display a list of databases with links. This indicates the FindIt widget may have found a source for electronic copy of the article. Click on the link to determine if a full text option is located.
    • Displays only a link to MARQCAT. Click the MARQCAT link to search the catalog. The journal may be available in print or fulltext through a source not searchable by the FindIt widget.

If you do not find the journal using FindIt@MU or MARQCAT, request the article through Interlibrary Loan. (This can be done directly from the article citation within some databases.) Or better yet, CONTACT A LIBRARIAN.

 

Primary Criminology Databases

 Use the following databases to start your research in Criminology and related fields.  Some include the full-text of the articles while others provide only citations and abstracts or summaries.

  • Criminal Justice Abstracts (MU users)  
    Contains comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology, crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, court
  • Criminal Justice Periodicals in ProQuest (MU users only)  
    Includes corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law. Provides abstracting and indexing of over 240 titles, 80 in full-text, from 1981 to the present.
  • Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection (MU users only)  
    Includes the full-text of 24 journals, some since 1922, covering such subjects as criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, corrections, penology, policing, forensic psychology, and family and domestic violence.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic (MU users only)  
    Full Text of current events/news publications, legal and government information and more. Coverage varies.
  • NCJRS Abstracts. National Criminal Justice Reference Service  
    The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.

Secondary Databases

  • Academic Search Premier (MU Users only)  
    Provides full text for over 2,000 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and much more. Coverage varies by publication. Some full-text PDFs from 1985 to present.
  • Dissertations and Theses (MU Users)  
    Contains records for more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Also included is the full text content for nearly 900,000 dissertations.
  • LegalTrac (MU Users only)  
    Indexes major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Also indexes law-related articles from more than 1,000 additional business and general interest titles.

  • Lexis Nexis Academic (MU Users only)  
    Full Text of current events/news publications, legal and government information and more. Coverage varies.
  • PAIS International (MU Users Only)  
    Covers current events, public policy issues. 1972-
 
 

AskUs

IM A Librarian if you have QUESTIONS

IM a LibrarianIM a Librarian
 

Al Capone

AL CAPONE

 

Bonnie Parker

BONNIE PARKER

 

Clyde Barrows

CLYDE BARROWS

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait