Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Civil and Environmental Engineering  Tags: engineering environment civil_engineering  

Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/ceen  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Writing and Citation Guides             Print Page
  
 

Why Style?

According to Wikipedia, a Style guide "is a set of standards for design and writing of documents, either for general use or for a specific publication or organization."  Style guides or manuals can be specific to a single discipline or publication while some are used across disciplines. A style guide generally covers everything about writing a document from how to format the title page, margins, tables or figures, and how to cite your references. 

Style guide. (2008, March 30). In Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Retrieved 03:01, April 2, 2008, from http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Style_guide&oldid=202074962 

 

RefWorks & Endnote Software

Citation or Reference managers are software products which can store and organize your references. In addition to the organizational benefits these products can help create bibliographies formatted in any style. Some can also create in-text citations or footnotes as you write your paper.

RefWorks

This Web-base citation manager allows you to create a personal database of book and/or article citations by importing references from online databases or text files. You can quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles. You can access your own RefWorks account anywhere on or off campus. Create your account at the Refworks' login screen.

RefWorks is provided to the Marquette community through MU Libraries' subscription to the service. For more inormation and helpful guides go to the Libraries' RefWorks information page

EndNote Web

This Web-based reference management tool allows you to create a personal database of references by importing citations from online databases or text files. You can organize references into folders, and quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles.

Endnote Web is provided free of charge to Marquette students and faculty as part of our subscription to Web of Science. If you don't have a personal Web of Science account, you can sign up for an Endnote Web account at myendnoteweb.com. You must be on campus in order to create an account. Once registered, you can access your Endnote Web account from on or off campus. You will need to login while on campus at least once every twelve months in order to maintain your account.

 

Why RefWorks?

See what ASU students say about RefWorks


Loading Video Clip...
 
 

Engineering Style

There are many different 'styles' used for engineering publications. The style you use will depend on what your professor or publisher prefers, which may be specific to a publication or area of engineering.  Marquette Libraries provides access to RefWorks, a web-based citation manager which can format citations and bibliographies in the style of most engineering publishers.  See the RefWorks information elsewhere on this page.

American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Authors Instructions.
ASCE has author guidelines based on the type of publication.  Refer to this site for journal, book, magazine, or transaction publication styles.

IEEE Author's Digital Toolbox
The IEEE provides a pdf manual for authors and many digital aids for preparation of your manuscript.

The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue has a section of tips for writing in Engineering.  Look in the Navigation column on the right side.

 

Other Style Manuals

The following publication styles are widely used in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. Check with your faculty member or publisher to verify if these are appropriate for your use.

  • Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
    Call Number: BF76.7 .P83
    Several copies are available in Memorial library for check out as well as one copy at the Reserve Desk, the Raynor Reference Collection and the Raynor Information Desk. A PDF copy of APA Style Guide to Electronic References is available for download by MU patrons by clicking on the title above.
  • Chicago Manual of Style - Quick Guide
    Call Number: Reference Z253 .U69 2003
    Print manual also located at Information Desk and int he general collection.
 

How to Import Google Scholar Into Refworks

Thanks to Alkek Library at Texas State University for this video.


Loading Video Clip...
 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait