Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Civil and Environmental Engineering  Tags: engineering environment civil_engineering  

Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/ceen  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles, Papers, Reports...             Print Page
  
 

Why Articles?

Articles appear in publications called magazines, journals, periodicals, and newspapers.  Use articles for:

• most recent research on a topic
• coverage of very narrow topics
• coverage of current events
• contemporary accounts of past events and research

Need Help?

IM a Librarian:
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian:
Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556

Email a Librarian:
Email the Information Desk at
askus@marquette.edu

Request an Appointment:
Research Consultation

Stop by In-person:
Service Hours

 

Article Databases

Databases provide a systematic method of searching for articles, conference papers, technical reports and other documents on your topic. The top databases for Civil and Envronmental Engineering are:

  • Applied Science and Technology Index  
      
    Indexes more than 390 periodicals in aeronautics; atmospheric sciences; construction industry; energy; environment; transportation and related sciences.
  • Civil Engineering Database - ASCE  
      
    Indexes all ASCE publications including the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletters.
  • Compendex  
      
    The most comprehensive database for engineering; provides citations and abstracts to journal articles, technical reports and conference proceedings. All engineering disciplines are covered.
  • Dissertations and Theses  
      
    Contains records for more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Also included is the full text content for nearly 900,000 dissertations.
  • ECOLEX  
      
    World's largest environmental law database. Includes information on treaties, international soft-law & other non-binding policy, technical guidance documents, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature.
  • Environment Complete  
      
    Contains full text for more than 750 journals and covers the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more
  • GreenFILE  
      
    Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports that offer a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment.
  • NTIS - National Technical Information Service  
      
    The largest central resource for government-funded information in science, technology, engineering, and business fields. Includes bibliographic citations and abbreviated abstracts from over 3 million publications.
  • Pollution Abstracts  
      
    Comprehensives coverage of scientific research and public policy on all aspects of pollution including air, marine, freshwater, land, sewage and wastewater treatment, waste management, toxicology and health, noise, radiation, and environmental action.
  • SAE Digital Library - Society of Automotive Engineers  
      
    Indexes thousands of documents from around the world covering the latest advances and research in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology. Full text of SAE documents begins in 1998.
  • TRIS Online  
      
    World's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation information,
  • Water Resources Abstracts  
      
    Scientific research and public policy on water related topics, including pollution abatement, purification and treatment methods, groundwater issues, conservation, and water quality/quantity management.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Science Citation Index covers the top journals in the sciences. Use 'cited reference' searching to trace research forward by identifying newer articles citing an older work.
  • More databases  
    For more databases useful for engineering see the full list on the Libraries' web site.
 

Getting the Articles

The Libraries subscribe to over 24,000 journals, most in electronic format. There are a variety of ways to find out if the Libraries subscribe to the journals you need.

If you already have the citation to an article:

  • Use MARQCAT. Search by Title and enter the title of the journal, NOT the title or author of the article.

 

If you are looking at citations from within a database:

  • Use the FindIt@MU icon in the citation you are interested in. This will open another window and do one of two things

    • Display a list of databases with links. This indicates the FindIt widget may have found a source for electronic copy of the article. Click on the link to determine if a full text option is located.  If no link to another source is provided ALWAYS do the following:
    • Displays only a link to MARQCAT. Click the MARQCAT link to search the catalog. The journal may be available in print or fulltext through a source not searchable by the FindIt widget.

If you do not find the journal using FindIt@MU or MARQCAT, request the article through Interlibrary Loan. This can be done directly from the article citation within some databases.

 
 

Evaluating Publications

Use critical thinking skills when deciding whether an article is appropriate to use. Consider:
Purpose: Is the intent to inform, entertain, persuade or educate?
Objectivity: Are various sides or points-of-view represented?
Author: Does the author have expertise on the topic?
Date: Is the information current or timely for your topic?
Bibliography: Are the authors sources of information cited completely.

Types of Periodicals

Periodicals, journals, magazines fall into 'categories' determined by their overall purpose.
Popular: Written for general public; authors and editors usually not experts in subject field; purpose is to provide current, societal/cultural news and discussion.
Trade: Written for individuals in a specific career/job or with a specific interest/hobby.  Authors are generally persons working in the field/hobby or journalists with specialized knowledge.  Articles discuss current issues but are not reports of research.
Scholarly: Written for, and authored by, researchers, educators, students.  Articles are reports of original research or other scholarly discussions.

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait