Why background?
Background sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals, etc.) provide summary and factual information. They generally contain well established knowledge and can provide a basic understanding on which to build. Use background sources to:
- find basic concepts and viewpoints of topic
- get the historical context and relationships to other topics
- identify and define special terms used to discuss the topics
- find or verify data, facts, formulas, etc.
Related Sciences
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
ISBN/ISSN: 0849304873
authoritative, up-to-date data o
Access Science
Over 7100 articles, 115,000 dictionary terms and hundreds of research updates in all areas of science and technology, updated daily.
Science Technology and Society
Interdisciplinary and international coverage of the functions and effects of science and technology in society and culture.
Encyclopaedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures
Handbooks & Encyclopedias
Civil Engineer's Reference Book
Fourth edition has 20 interactive graphs and 2 interactive tables, and provides a concise and comprehensive survey of the fundamentals, theory and current practice in the many branches of civil engineering.
Civil Engineering Formulas
Compilation of all essential civil engineering formulas and equations in one easy-to-use reference.
Civil Engineering Handbook
Call Number: Reference TA151 .C57 2003
Provides extensive coverage of the major areas of civil engineering.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering
Call Number: Reference TD9 .E5 2006
The most comprehensive, authoritative reference available in this field.
Handbook of complex environmental remediation problems
Comprehensive review of every current engineering solution, and provides expert help with waste minimization and pollution prevention
Handbook of Structural Engineering
Call Number: Reference TA633 .H36 2005
Comprehensive reference to the broad spectrum of structural engineering, encapsulating the theoretical, practical, and computational aspects of the field.
Highway Engineering Handbook
Compiles all the data necessary for efficient and cost-effective highway design, building, rehabilitation, and maintenance.
Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers
Call Number: Reference TA151 .S8 2004
ISBN/ISSN: 0071364730
Provides broad coverage of the discipline, an essential, solid, and important reference work in civil engineering.
Knovel Handooks
Dozens of additional handbooks are available through the Knovel database. See search widget and tutorials at right.
Search Knovel Books
Knovel How-To
- Knovel Tutorials Two tutorials available:
~ Data (Graphics, Equations, Tables) Searching
~ Using Interative Anaylisis Tools
Dictionaries
Comic
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait