This is the "Home" page of the "Emancipation Proclamation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Emancipation Proclamation  

Last Updated: Aug 26, 2013 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/emancipation_proclamation Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Preview

This Research Guide was created to help the Marquette University community celebrate the 150th anniversary of the Emancipation Proclamation, which went into effect January 1, 1863.  The Guide is part of the Freedom Project at Marquette.

 

MARQCAT Search

Need help searching?

 

Books--A Sampler

List here is just a selection of scholarly books published since 2000.  For more books see the box above this one.

Cover Art
The Fiery Trial : Abraham Lincoln and American slavery - Eric Foner
Call Number: E457.2 .F66 2010 Memorial Level 2 Reading Room
Publication Date: 2010
In print only. Click title for bibliographic record.

Cover Art
Abraham Lincoln and the Road to Emancipation, 1861-1865 - William K. Klingaman
Call Number: E457.2 .K57 2001 Memorial Level 2
Publication Date: 2001
In print only. Click title for the bibliographic record.

Cover Art
Act of Justice : Lincoln's Emancipation Proclamation and the law of war - Burrus M. Carnahan
Call Number: E453 .C375 2007 Memorial Level 2
Publication Date: 2007
Online and in print. For online version click on title here. For print view MARQCAT Record

Cover Art
Lincoln's Emancipation Proclamation : the end of slavery in America - Allen C. Guelzo
Call Number: E453 .G9 2004 Memorial Level 2
Publication Date: 2004-02-03
In print only. Click title for bibliographic record.

Cover Art
Team of Rivals: the political genius of Abraham Lincoln - Doris Kearns Goodwin
Call Number: E457.45 .G66 2005 Memorial Level 2
Publication Date: 2005
Online only. Click title for bibliographic entry.

Cover Art
Emancipating Lincoln - Harold Holzer
Call Number: E453 .H644 2012 Memorial Level 2 Reading Room
Publication Date: 2012
Print only. Click on title for bibliographic entry.

 

Lincoln Reading the Emancipation Proclamation to His Cabinet

The original painting by Alonzo Chappel is in the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. 
This image of it is reproduced in the Art Museum Image Gallery.

 

Map of the Areas to which the Emancipation Proclamation Applied

The Emancipatuion Proclamation drew its legal authority from the emergency of the war.  Thus it applied to those states still at war with the federal government.  Lincoln also did not want to threaten federal control of slave territory held by federal troops, who occupied Missouri, Kentucky, Maryland, and Delaware.  West Virginia had seceded from Virginia early in the war; it too was occupied by federal troops, as was the area around New Orleans and Washington D.C.  The complete and constitutional abolition of slavery required the 13th Amendment to the Constitution, as viewers of the recent motion picture "Lincoln" will remember.  Nonetheless the Emancipation Proclamation marked the effective end of slavery in the United States.  The map
is from UShistory.org (http://www.ushistory.org/us/34a.asp).

 

Juneteenth

Juneteenth is the oldest known celebration commemorating the ending of slavery in the United States.  Dating back to 1865, it was on June 19th that the Union soldiers, led by Major General Gordon Granger, landed at Galveston, Texas with news that the war had ended and that the enslaved were now free. Note that this was two and a half years after President Lincoln’s Emancipation Proclamation - which had become official January 1, 1863. The Emancipation Proclamation had little impact on the Texans due to the minimal number of Union troops to enforce the new Executive Order. However, with the surrender of General Lee in April of 1865, and the arrival of General Granger’s regiment, the forces were finally strong enough to influence and overcome the resistance. From Juneteenth.com.

Juneteenth World Wide Celebration

Juneteenth from the Texas Historical Society

Juneteenth from the Encyclopedia of African American History: 1896 to the Present

Photo of Emancipation Day in a Texas Community: 1900.  Image copied from Wikimedia Commons..

 

Journal Articles

To find scholarly articles about the Emancipation Proclamation go to:

America: History & Life

Click on the dropdown arrow to the right of the first search box and select: Subject Terms.

Enter: Emancipation Proclamation.

Click on Search.

You will get over 120 hits.  Add keywords in the other search boxes to refine your results, or use the filters on the left.

 

More Sample Books

Cover Art
Envisioning Emancipation - Deborah Willis; Barbara Krauthamer
Call Number: E185.2 .W68 2013 Memorial Level 2 Reading Room
ISBN: 9781439909850
Publication Date: 2012
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic entry.

Cover Art
The Emancipation Proclamation : three views (social, political, iconographic) - Harold Holzer; Edna Greene Medford; Frank J. Williams
Call Number: E453 .H645 2006 Memorial Level 2
Publication Date: 2006
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic entry.

Cover Art
Lincoln and Freedom - Ron Keller et al
Call Number: E457.2 .L815 2007 Memorial Level 2 Reading Room
Publication Date: 2007
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic entry.

Cover Art
Final Freedom - Michael Vorenberg et al
Call Number: E453 .V67 2001 Memorial Level 2
Publication Date: 2001
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic entry.

Cover Art
Lincoln's Hundred Days - Louis P. Masur
Call Number: E453 .M266 2012 Memorial Level 2 Reading Room
Publication Date: 2012
In print only. Click on title for bibliographic record.

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2013 Marquette University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip