What are Historical Directories?
Historical directories can aid in finding information about geographical locations, time periods, people, and primary source information. The links here provide some directory sites to find historical information and documents.
Historical Directories
- City Directories: Temple University Libguide A resource guide created by Temple University about city directories. Check MARQCAT to see if we have the titles and resources here at the library or request from another library. Have questions? Ask a librarian!
- California Pioneer Project
Directory of resources for genealogical research in California. See the California Pioneer List for "settlers to California who migrated to or were born in California prior to 1880 (included in the 1880 California Census ...) - Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers Visitors to this website may "search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present." The Newspaper Directory allows users to "search or browse the directory of newspapers published.
- Historical Directories The Historical Directories web site provides national coverage and also integrates material from different institutions into a coherent, and free, online collection. Check out their web site for more information about the site.
- Historical Research in Europe: A Guide to Archives and Libraries A directory of European libraries and archives. "The focus is on materials found in western European repositories from the Atlantic area eastward." Searchable, and browsable my map. From the Center for European Studies, University of Wisconsin-Madison.
- Historical Text Archive Comprehensive and eclectic directory of historical resources. Includes primary documents, related links, and electronic versions of print books, organized by geography / nations and topics.
- San Francisco 1852 City Directory
Transcript of "the first San Francisco directory yet published" of businesses and people, compiled by A.W. Morgan and Company in September 1852. Browsable by surname. Entries include street address and, when available, occupation. - Society Hill: The Internet Directory of Genealogical and Historical Societies Directory of addresses and Websites (where available) for thousands of historical and genealogical societies in the United States, Canada and Australia. Browsable by geographic location.
- WWW Virtual Library: Labour History view detail
A directory of Web sites about labor "to assist historians, political and social scientists, and others with a historical interest." Topics include countries world-wide, libraries, museums, associations, journals, anarchism, gender, Jewish labor, & More.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait