Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

Directories  Tags: directory directories phone_numbers reverse_lookup businesses business government historical_directories email relgious_directories print_directories addresses website websites reference mailcode  

Search for Information about People, Businesses, Government, Websites & More!
Last update: Aug 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/directories  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Start Here             Print Page
  

Quick Links

Need Help?

IM a Librarian:
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian:
Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556

Email a Librarian:
Email the Information Desk at
askus@marquette.edu

Request an Appointment:
Research Consultation

Stop by In-person:
Service Hours

 

Created By:

This resource guide was created by Carolyn Weber and last updated 6-30-2009

 
 

What is a Directory?

You May Ask What is a Directory?

A directory is an list that may be alphabetical and is an organized list.

What would you use a directory for?

  • Find Company information
  • Find Addresses & Phone numbers
  • Find Websites
  • Find Historical Information
  • Explore Categories of Information

This guide will give you various directories for finding information about people, businesses, government and other information.

Click on the tabs above to navigate this resource guide.


Here are some various definitions of a directory:

An alphabetical list of names and addresses (wordnet.princeton.edu/perl/webwn)

A list of names, addresses etc., of specific classes of people or organizations, often in alphabetical order or in some classification (en.wiktionary.org/wiki/directory)

A directory is a web site that focuses on listing web sites by individual topics; it is a quasi table of contents. A search engine lists pages, where a Directory (such as Looksmart or The Open Directory Project) lists websites.
(www.sitenexus.com/glossary.asp)

Also known as a search directory. Refers to a directory of web sites contained in an engine that are categorized into topics (www.georgiaseo.net/georgia-search-engine-optimization-glossary-of-seo-terms.html)

A categorised list of websites that is maintained by human editors instead of crawlers. (www.higher-sites.co.uk/seo_glossary.html)



Used with Permission (c) Bill Barnes & Gene Ambaum Unshelved.com

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait