Historical Atlases in Print @ the Library
Atlas of American military history - edited by James C. Bradford
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE E181 .A85 2003
"From the Indian Wars of the seventeenth century to the military operations in Afghanistan, the Atlas of American Military History covers the full span of America at war, exploring the personalities, methods, strategies, and historical contexts of each conflict."
Historical atlas of the United States : with original maps - Derek Hayes
Call Number: RAYNOR ATLAS CASE G1201.S1 H4 2007
"Using more than five hundred historical maps from collections around the world, this book is the first to tell the story of America's past from a geographical perspective. Covering more than half a millennium in U.S. history - from conception to colonization to Hurricane Katrina - this atlas documents the discoveries and explorations, the intrigue and negotiations, the technology and the will that led the United States to become what it is today. Richly detailed, visually breathtaking maps are accompanied by extended captions that elucidate the stories and personalities behind their creation."
The atlas of African-American history and politics : from the slave trade to modern times - Arwin D. Smallwood with Jeffrey M. Elliot
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE E185 .S574 1998
THE ATLAS OF AFRICAN-AMERICAN HISTORY AND POLITICS consists of more than 150 originally produced maps which trace the African experience throughout the world and in America. The volume traces the complete history of African-Americans and their lives, employing artfully-conceived maps, and enhanced by sharply-written historic narratives, graphically reinforcing the facts.
The atlas of U.S. and Canadian environmental history - Char Miller, editor
Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 3 GF503 .A84 2003
this chronological account in the form of a series of signed essays about the events, people, issues, movements, politics, philosophy, and science related to environmental history since 1492 is an attractive and accessible presentation. The book is divided into seven chapters, each representing an era. Within each chapter are from 12 to 17 essays, each about two pages long and accompanied by maps, tables, charts, illustrations, photographs, sidebars, and short lists of books for further reading.
The IVP atlas of Bible history - Paul Lawrence ; [senior consulting editor, Alan Millard ; consulting editors, Heinrich von Siebenthal and John Walton]
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE G2230 .L39 2006
"Taking a narrative approach, The IVP Atlas of Bible History draws readers into the rich resources available today on the Bible's history, geography and archeology. The numerous maps, photographs, drawings and reconstructions help us see for ourselves on every page what the people of that day saw and did. While the text is informed by the latest findings in history and archeology, it presents these in a readable style suitable for all those seeking an access to the history of the Bible."
The Routledge atlas of Jewish history - Martin Gilbert
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE G1030 .G5 2006
"In this new edition of The Routledge Atlas of Jewish History a series of 146 maps traces the worldwide migration of the Jews from ancient Mesopotamia to the opening years of the twenty-first century. Spanning over four thousand years of history, it presents a vivid picture of a fascinating people and the trials and tribulations which have haunted their story."
Online Historical Atlases
- An Atlas of the German Empire The digitization of this rare 1883 work is expected to help "in tracing the roots of families with origins in any part of the German empire from the late nineteenth century to the early twentieth century
- Cartographic Perspectives: From the New World to Your World This exhibit has the goal of making "clear the power of maps to represent and to shape new knowledge about place." Exhibit sections consider maps from early exploration and discovery and 19th and 20th century exploration, urban maps, and more
- Cities in the Americas: A Celebration of the Phelps Stokes Collection This exhibition from the New York Public Library] includes examples of 18th-century views of America's founding cities, as well as such dramatic 19th-century formats as the bird's-eye view
- Conservation and Environmental Maps The historic and more recent maps contained in this category show early exploration and subsequent land use in various areas of the United States.
- Europe Map Archive "A historical and cultural atlas resource, providing maps of Europe in subjects such as: Natural Resources & Trade, the Ancient Near East, Classical Greece, the Hellenistic World & Roman Republic, Principate & Empire, and Late Antiquity & Early Medieval."
- Hargrett Library Rare Map Collection Hargrett Library Rare Map Collection, sponsored by the University of Georgia, is a digital resource providing access to over 800 historical maps. The oldest maps date back to the sixteenth century.
- Historical Atlas of the Twentieth Century Provides a variety of maps which chart socio-economic trends, systems of government, cities, and wars and massacres throughout the 20th Century. Many of the maps are interactive and go into extensive detail.
- Jerusalem in Old Maps and Views From the earliest known image of the city - a sixth-century mosaic - to a 1905 mizrach (a wall decoration indicating east), these maps depict Jerusalem with flair and symbolism.
- Librarians' Internet Index: Historical Maps A listing of historical map websites gathered by the Librarians' Internet Index website.
- Panoramic Maps Collection: 1847-1929 "Panoramic maps are nonphotographic representations of cities portrayed as if viewed from above at an oblique angle. Although not generally drawn to scale, they show street patterns, individual buildings, and major landscape features in perspective."
- The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection Digitized images of maps from the library's collection, including special sections on maps of current interest. Maps are in fairly large (100 to 900K) .gif or .jpg images, and may take a while to load.
Historical Atlases
Historical atlases are useful for finding information historical time period.
Some examples of subjects that historical atlases cover are wars, geographical areas, time periods, and biblical history.
Example:
So, lets say I was doing a paper on how humans have affected the Milwaukee River ion the Riverwest and East Side areas.
To find some evidence for my paper, I could look in an atlas that shows population growth and building construction during the last 150 years in the Riverwest and East side neighborhoods by looking at maps that reflect different decades.

Need More?
MARQCAT, the Marquette Libraries catalog, lists books ( in print or electronic format), DVDs, videos, and CDs the library owns
The print and online Atlases given here are only a small sample of what is available.
Search for historical atlases by using the 'word' search mode. Type [insert a historical event/period] and 'atlas' to find atlases in the catalog.
Examples of searches:
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait