AGS Digital Map Collection Sanborn Maps
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

Atlases & Maps  Tags: atlas atlases map maps census mashups citation citing history historical education world united_states sanborn cartographic cartography google_maps geography  

A guide to finding atlases and maps in Raynor Memorial Libraries
Last update: Aug 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/atlases  Print Guide  RSS Updates

United States Atlases             Print Page
  
 

United States Atlases In Print @ the Library: General & Specialized

  • Historical atlas of the United States : with original maps - Derek Hayes
    Call Number: RAYNOR ATLAS CASE G1201.S1 H4 2007
    Using more than five hundred historical maps from collections around the world, this book is the first to tell the story of America's past from a geographical perspective. Covering more than half a millennium in U.S. history - from conception to colonization to Hurricane Katrina - this atlas documents the discoveries and explorations, the intrigue and negotiations, the technology and the will that led the United States to become what it is today.
  • Macmillan color atlas of the states - Mark T. Mattson
    Call Number: Raynor Reference G1200 .M4 1996
    Documents important aspects of every state in the Union using four-color maps, charts, and other illustrations. The book devotes seven pages to each state, detailing basic facts, cultural features, climate and environment, history, population and government, ethnicity and education, and economy and resources
  • The atlas of North American English : phonetics, phonology, and sound change : a multimedia reference tool - William Labov, Sharon Ash, Charles Boberg
    Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE PE2808 .L26 2006
    The Atlas of North American English provides the first overall view of the pronunciation and vowel systems of the dialects of the U.S. and Canada. The Atlas re-defines the regional dialects of American English on the basis of sound changes active in the 1990s and draws new boundaries reflecting those changes.
  • Atlas of American politics, 1960-2000 - J. Clark Archer ... [et al.]
    Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE G1201.F1 A8 2002
    This new atlas allows researchers to easily make visual comparisons of regional voting patterns throughout the history of the United States. Presented in the form of a four-color atlas, Historical Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections 1788-2004 provides maps and context on every U.S. presidential election since 1789.
  • Atlas of American migration - Stephen A. Flanders
    Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE G1201.E27 F5 1998
    Atlas of American Migration presents U.S. history through the movement of its people. More than 150 maps, charts, and graphs combine with an authoritative text to tell the story, from the prehistoric wanderers who crossed the Bering Strait to today's Asian immigrants, from the movement westward to the flight to the suburbs

Online United States Atlases & Maps

  • Atlas of United States Mortality  
    Released to the public on April 14, 1997, this atlas is the first to show all leading causes of death by race and sex for small U.S. geographic areas referred to as Health Service Areas (HSA's).
  • California Geographical Survey  
    The California Geographical Survey provides aerial panoramic maps of California, other Western states and world maps. There is also educational historical and geographical information.
  • Congressional District Maps  
    Maps of congressional district boundaries for the most current session of Congress. View and print maps by state, or by individual district.
  • Conservation and Environmental Maps  
    The historic and more recent maps contained in this category show early exploration and subsequent land use in various areas of the United States. These maps show the changes in the landscape.
  • Historical Maps of the United States  
    Provides U.S.maps dating back to the 16th century.
  • National atlas of the United States of America  
    This site updates the 1970 print map, National Atlas of the United States produced by the U.S. Government. Delivers easy to use, map-like views of America's natural and sociocultural landscapes. Maps are interactive and some are multimedia.
  • U.S. Gazetteer  
    Type in a place name or zip code and then view a detailed map or census data.
  • U.S. Geological Survey--Earth Explorer  
    I can see my house from up here! USGS's satellite photos and maps show tons of information for anywhere in the United States. See topographic maps for your back yard, or find your latitude and longitude.
  • U.S. Geological Survey--Global Visualization Viewer  
    USGS has compiled dozens of its map collections for this comprehensive geological website. Make your own maps with layers like roads, rail ways, water and cities, and even search for older maps.
 

Comic

Politcal Cartoon

A crude nonpartisan satire, parodying all four candidates in the 1860 presidential election. A map of the United States hung on a wall is being torn apart by three of the candidates. Lincoln (far left) and Douglas tear at the western part of the country, as Breckinridge (center) attacks the South. The fourth, John Bell (right), stands on a stool trying to repair the northeastern section with a jar of "Spaldings," a widely marketed glue of the period. Several boxes of this adhesive appear, prominently labeled, at right.

Source: American Political Prints, 1766 - 1876: A Catalog of the Collections in the Library of Congress, 1991, by Bernard F. Reilly, Jr.

 
 

Finding Print Atlases

Atlases are located in the first floor of Raynor Library. The atlas stands are located by the Funding Information Center and computer clusters on the south side on the Raynor first floor and some are also at the information desk.

Below are some of the keywords to use in MARQCAT to find United States atlases:

 

 

Need More?

MARQCAT, the Marquette Libraries catalog, lists books ( in print or electronic format), DVDs, videos, and CDs the library owns

Search for United States atlases by using the 'word' search mode. Type' United States' and 'atlas' and the type of map or atlas you are looking for.

Example: "United States" and atlas


Search by:
for:
in:

United States Map

 

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait