AGS Digital Map Collection Sanborn Maps
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

Atlases & Maps  Tags: atlas atlases map maps census mashups citation citing history historical education world united_states sanborn cartographic cartography google_maps geography  

A guide to finding atlases and maps in Raynor Memorial Libraries
Last update: Aug 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/atlases  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Citing Maps             Print Page
  
 

How to Cite Maps & Atlases

How you cite a map depends on where you find it. However, below are several ways to cite maps depending on where you found them. These examples can be used to supplment, and modified to conform to, another style guide, i.e. Chiago, MLA, APA, Turabian

1. A Single Sheet Map

Basic Form: author. Title [format]. Edition. Scale. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date.

Example: U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. Madagascar [map]. 1:3,465,000. [Washington, D.C.]: Central Intelligence Agency, 1973.

2. Map in a book

Basic Form: Map author. Map title [format]. Scale. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date. In: Book author. Book Title. Edition. Place of publication: Publisher, Date, page.

Example: Fig. 3: Major Seaports and Transportation Axes in Southern and South Central Africa (1978) [map]. 1.6 cm. = 500 km. In: Wiese, Bernd. Seaports and Port Cities of Southern Africa. Wiesbaden: Franz SteinerVerlag GmbH., 1981, p. 23.

3. Map in a periodical article

Basic Form: Map author. Map title [format]. Scale. In: Article author. "Article title," Journal title, Volume (date): page.

Example: U.S. Geological Survey of the Territories. Yellowstone National Park; From Surveys Made Under the Direction of F.V. Hayden, U.S. Geologist and Other Authorities, 1871 [map]. Scale not given. In: Walsh, Jim. "Exploration and Mapping of Yellowstone National Park," Meridian, 3 (1990): 14.

4. Satellite Imagery

Basic Form: Author. Title or Scene ID, Satellite and sensor name (as appropriate) [format]. Scale. Place of publication. Publisher, Date or image collection (NOT date of reproduction).

Example: U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration. [Santa Barbara Region, California] E-2 429-17512-4, 5, 7, Landsat 2 [col. satellite image]. 1:500,000. Sioux Falls, S. Dak.: EROS Data Center, 1976.

Citation examples based on:

Clark, Suzanne M., Mary Lynette Larsgaard, and Cynthia M. Teague.
     Cartographic Citations: A Style Guide, MAGERT Circular No. 1. 
     Chicago:  American Library Association, 1992.

Online Citation Guides

 

Other Sources

 
 

What is Refworks?

RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography database manager that allows you to create a personal database of book and/or article citations by importing references from online databases or text files.

You can quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles. You can access your own RefWorks account anywhere on or off campus.

If you have not used RefWorks before, you can create your account at the Refworks' login screen.

Need more information check this resource page.

Need Help?

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian

Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556

Email a Librarian

Email the Information Desk at
askus@marquette.edu

24/7 Live Help

Research Consultation

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait