AGS Digital Map Collection Sanborn Maps
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

Atlases & Maps  Tags: atlas atlases map maps census mashups citation citing history historical education world united_states sanborn cartographic cartography google_maps geography  

A guide to finding atlases and maps in Raynor Memorial Libraries
Last update: Aug 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/atlases  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Subject Specific Atlases             Print Page
  
 

Subject-Specific Atlases

  • Atlas of the world's languages - general editors Christopher Moseley and R.E. Asher
    Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE G1046.E3 A8 2007
    Aims to depict the location of every known living language, including languages on the point of extinction. This atlas offers: a linguistic history of each section; an overview of the genetic relations of the languages in each section; statistical and sociolinguistic information; further reading and a bibliography for each section; and more.
  • Bible History Atlas - F.F. Bruce
    Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 3 G2230 .B783 2005
    This profusely illustrated Atlas tells the full story of the Bible from Genesis to Acts. The 96 maps which illustrate such events as the wanderings of the Patriarchs and the journeys of St. Paul are enhanced by a text written by the renowned British biblical scholar, F. F. Bruce.  The work is not only a useful reference for finding places mentioned in the Bible, but also a marvelously well-written summary of the key events of biblical history.
  • Color atlas of genetics - Eberhard Passarge ; with 202 color plates by Jürgen Wirth
    Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE QH436 .P3713 2007
    With more than 200 absorbing full-color plates concisely explained on facing pages, the atlas offers readers an easy-to-use, yet remarkably detailed guide to key molecular, theoretical, and medical aspects of genetics and genomics. Brief descriptions of numerous genetic diseases are included, with references for more detailed information.
  • Grant's atlas of anatomy - Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
    Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE QM25 .G7 2009
    "The new edition of this classic anatomy atlas features many improvements, including updated artwork, more vital tissue colors, new conceptual diagrams, re-colored illustrations, and a more consistent art style. Clinical integration has been enhanced in this edition, with clinical material clearly highlighted for easy identification. In addition, the organization within each chapter has been updated to provide a clearer and more consistent approach."
  • Ice Age Trail atlas - written by the Ice Age Park and Trail Foundation ; edited by Andrew Hanson ; cartography and layout by Mapping Specialists Limited
    Call Number: MEMORIAL LEVEL 3 GV199.42.W6 I34 2008
    The Ice Age Trail Atlas includes more than 100 color maps showing every mile of the Ice Age Trail route, the locations of parking areas, toilets, campgrounds, shelters, dispersed camping areas, topography and more. The Atlas also includes a gazetteer that describes many of the place names along the Trail.
  • The Atlas of Religion - Joanne O'Brien and Martin Palmer ; consultant editor, David B. Barrett
    Call Number: Raynor Reference BL80.2 .O27 2007
    The world's religions have emerged as one of the greatest geopolitical forces now shaping our lives. In an accessible text packed with information, it maps the current nature, extent, and influence of each of the major religions and shows, country by country, how religions are spread through broadcasting, missionary work, schooling, and banking; how they relate to government, laws, and world hunger; and the role they play in wars. It traces the emergence of new religious movements, the survival of traditional beliefs, and the presence of atheism and agnosticism. The Atlas of Religion also locates the origin, the heartland, and the sacred places of each of the major religions and provides essential background with a valuable table showing the fundamental beliefs of Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Sikhism, and Taoism.
  • The Penguin atlas of women in the world - oni Seager ; [cartography by Isabelle Lewis]
    Call Number: Raynor Referece G1046.E1 S4 2003
    "World events continue to reveal the importance of understanding how women live across continents and cultures. Using maps, text, and other graphics in this new revision of her eye-opening book, Joni Seager employs up-to-the-minute research and data to show what shifts have occurred in the ten years since the first edition was published - the strides made by women and the distance still to be traveled."
  • The state of health atlas : mapping the challenges and causes of disease - Diarmuid O'Donovan
    Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE RA792.5 .O3 2008
    Bringing together the latest data to chart recent and emerging trends, this atlas offers a major new profile of the state of health worldwide. In clear, full-color graphic displays and concise, informative text, it maps the causes and incidences of the major diseases as well as the economic, social, and environmental factors that shape health around the globe. In addition, it shows how health needs are identified, how health policy is developed and delivered, and how the quality of health services varies from country to country.

Online Subject-Specific Atases

  • American Geographical Society Library  
    Housed in the Golda Meir Library of University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, this is one of the largest map and geography collections in North America.
  • Campus Map Locator  
    Links to campus maps in the United States and other countries.
  • GettyThesaurus of Geographic Names  
    The TGN is a structured vocabulary containing around 895,000 records, including around 1,115,000 names, place types, coordinates, and descriptive notes, focusing on places important for the study of art and architecture.
  • Tennessee Electronic Atlas (TEA)  
    This state atlas contains "brief overviews of socio-economic aspects of each county, and links to county specific information".
  • The UC Atlas of Global Inequality  
    The Atlas explores the interaction between global integration (globalization) and inequality and provides maps, graphics and data." Searchable by keyword; and browsable by country and region, and topic.
  • Atlas of the Body: Anatomy and Medical Illustrations  
    Browse this atlas of the human body by major section (brain, circulatory system, muscles, respiratory system, nervous system, or female reproductive system), or by subsections such as the hand or skull. From the American Medical Association.
  • The Great Lakes: An Environmental Atlas and Resource Boo  
    This online edition of a print atlas published in 1995 explores the history, geology, climate, and exploitation of the Great Lakes, with an emphasis on environmental concerns. Features a glossary, factsheets, maps, images, and diagrams.
  • United Nations Atlas of the Oceans  
    The United Nations Atlas of the Oceans "is an Internet portal providing information relevant to the sustainable development of the oceans.
 
 

Subject-Specific Atlases

These are useful for finding information at a particular subject area and you want to visually gather data. Rather than the broad overview that a world or country atlas contains, a subject atlas will give more focused information on very specific subjects.

Some examples of subjects that atlases cover are: religions, gender, history, population, specific country demographics, medicine, politics, elections, the environment, among many others.



So, lets say I was doing a paper on literacy and women and I needed to find out more about the literacy rates for women generally worldwide.

I could look in a subject atlas, such as The Penguin Atlas of Women in the World, and locate data about literacy rates worldwide represented in the maps. I may also find other factors such as birth rates, access to health care, rape, labor and family size.

 

Need More?

MARQCAT, the Marquette Libraries catalog, lists books ( in print or electronic format), DVDs, videos, and CDs the library owns

The print and online Atlases given here are only a small sample of what is available.

Search for subject atlases by using the 'word' search mode. Type [subject type] and 'atlas' to find atlases in the catalog.

Examples of searches:


Search by:
for:
in:

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait