World Atlases in Print @ the Library
Cosmopolitan world atlas - Rand McNally and Company
Call Number: RAYNOR ATLAS CASE G1021 .R35 1996Goode's World Atlas - Rand McNally and Company
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE G1021 .G6 1995
Hammond World Atlas - Hammond World Atlas Corporation
Call Number: RAYNOR REFERENCE G1021 .H2665 2003
Thematic section -- Satellite section -- Map section: Europe -- Asia -- Africa -- Australia, New Zealand, and Central Pacific -- North and Middle America -- South American and polar regions -- Statistical tables and index
Oxford Atlas of the World - Cartography by Philip's
Call Number: RAYNOR ATLAS CASE G1021 .A7545 2000 c.2
Online World Atlases &Maps
- Culture Grams: World Edition (MU Community Only) Provides brief reports on each country, discussing land, history, people, customs, lifestyle, society, and government.
- World factbook (MU Community Only) US government profiles of countries and territories around the world. Information on geography, people, government, transportation, economy, communications, ...
- AtlaPedia Contains full color physical and political maps as well as key facts and statistics on countries of the world.
- Earth and Moon Viewer You can select views of Earth from the Moon or from the Sun, locate specific craters on the Moon by name, zoom in and out, and select different types of displays including topographic maps, weather maps and cloud maps."
- Earthshots A collection of before-and-after satellite images, maps and photographs designed to show recent environmental events and to introduce remote sensing. Covers environmental changes in a variety of urban, agricultural, forested, and marine locations.
- HRW World Atlas Provides color, detailed maps of continents, countries and states.
- Maps and Geography of the World "This world atlas includes an alphabetical list of countries and continents (below) or countries organized by continent and region. This atlas also includes maps and geographical information for U.S. states and territories, major world cities and oceans."
- Maps of the World Online maps showing countries of the world and continents. Too wide for smaller monitors.
- National Geographic Map Machine From National Geographic, provides maps, profiles, etc. of U.S. states as well as countries of the world.
- Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection Contains more than 2,100 maps from various regions of the world.
- The World Gazetteer "This site provides information about current population of countries, their administrative areas, cities and towns as well as images of the current national flags."
- United Nations Cartographic Section An online collection of maps held and produced by the United Nations. Both general and peacekeeping maps are available, along with other geographical resources. You can view maps by country, region, or mission.
- World Mapper Worldmapper is a collection of world maps, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest. There are now nearly 600 maps.
Comic

Used with Permission from http://xkcd.com/
Finding Print Atlases
Atlases are located in the first floor of Raynor Library. The atlas stands are located by the Funding Information Center and computer clusters on the south side on the Raynor first floor. Also, a few atlases are located at information desk.
Using MARQCAT to find atlases.
The subject heading 'atlases'
will retrieve general atlases.
The subject heading 'atlases,[insert nationality]' will retrieve atlases published in or about for
that particular country, e.g. the heading 'atlases, German'
will retrieve world atlases published in Germany. The atlas may
emphasize German information, but could also be a world atlas.
Subject headings:
Need More?
MARQCAT, the Marquette Libraries catalog, lists books ( in print or electronic format), DVDs, videos, and CDs the library owns
Search for world atlases by using the 'word' search mode. Type"world atlas" and the type of map or atlas you are looking for.
Example: 'World Atlas'
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait