Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Companions, Handbooks, and Guides 

These reference works offer introductions to subjects, whether they be whole disciplines, prominent topics, or individual thinkers.
Last update: Aug 12th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/companions  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Your Companion, Handbook, or Guide             Print Page
  

Quick Links

Need Help?

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian: 414.288.7556

Email a Librarian

Research Consultation

 
 

Use MARQCAT to find your Companion, Handbook, or Guide

The Libraries have over 3,000 companions, handbooks, or guides, most of them specialized. One could be just right for your needs, whether it be psychology, history, nursing, statistics and many more.  Go to the Advanced Keyword Screen below and follow these steps:

1.  Change the first search window to Title, using the drop down menu to the left.  Enter the following:  companion or handbook or guide.

2.  Change the second search window to Title and enter any term or phrase that might get the book you want.  Put phrases in quotes.

If you get too many hits, go to "Limit to:" and enter a date range, such as 1990 to 2010.  Or change "Search and Sort" to date.  That puts the most recent first.

If you only want an online book, enter e-books in the third search window.

 

Advanced Keyword Screen

MARQCAT Advanced Keyword Searching

Advanced Keyword Search

Please fill in the boxes, select limits, and click
Submit (or choose a Simple Keyword Search):

 

Online Collections of Reference Works--Multidisciplinary

  • Credo Reference: 100 online subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and more
  • Gale Virtual Reference:40+ online encyclopedias mostly for the humanities and social sciences. Includes several huge, multi-volume sets ...
  • Oxford Reference Online:175+ dictionaries and encyclopedias for subject areas and languages
  •  
     

    All Reference, Not Just Encyclopedias etc.

    For online reference resources of all kinds see Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, . . .

     

    Cambridge Companions--Philosophy

    Collection of over 100 companions on major figures in philosophy, religion, and culture.

    Cambridge Companions

     

    Cambridge Companions--Literature

    Collection of over 100 companions on authors, literary periods, and genres.

    Cambridge Companions

     

     

    Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
    © 2008 Marquette University

    Description

      Loading content... please wait