Viewing a Standard
Most standards are the property of the developing organization and thus are not freely available. Marquette Libraries subscribe to two collections and can purchase others individually upon request.
Other Ways to Get Standards
- National Center for Standards and Certification Information
A part of NIST, NCSCI provides contact information for obtaining standards from various bodies or agencies. - NSSN: A National Resource for Global Standards
Not a direct source of full text, however NSSN has full bibliographic information on developing and approved national, international, foreign, and regional standards and regulatory documents, including information on where standards may be purchased
Full Text Standards
- ASME Boiler & Pressure Vessel Code - Section II This internationally recognized code establishes rules of safety governing the design, fabrication, and inspection of boilers and pressure vessels. Section II - Materials, contains four parts that efficiently organize the important materials data used in ASME code design and construction of boilers and pressure vessels.
- Assistdocs.gov
Online source for full text of many U.S. military standards. Defense and federal specifications and standards, DoD adopted non-Government standards, and many other types. - ASTM Standards - American Society for Testing and Materials
Identify specific standards by searching ASTM online, then request a download of the standard at the Raynor Library Information Desk. - IEEE Standards
The IEEE Xplore Library contains full text of IEEE Standards, approved standards, unapproved and approved draft standards are available. - National Electrical Safety Code Covers basic provisions for safeguarding of persons from hazards arising from the installation, operation, or maintenance of conductors and equipment in electric supply stations, and overhead and underground electric supply and communication lines.
Standards/regulations/code in Print
Print sources located in the Libraries' collection:
National Electrical Code - National Fire Protection Association
Call Number: Reference TK 260 .N35
World’s most widely adopted safety code, with regulations for electrical wiring and equipment in virtually all types of buildings.
ACI Manual of Concrete Practice - American Concrete Institute
Call Number: Reference TA 439 .A25x
Contains ACI codes, specifications, reports, and guides used in the design, construction, and inspection of concrete structures.
International Building Code - International Code Council
Call Number: Reference TH 223 .I55 2000 (2009 on order)
Comprehensive coverage of regulations surrounding the design and installation of building systems, includes means of egress, interior finish requirements, roofs, seismic engineering, innovative construction technology, and occupancy classifications.
NFPA 1 fire code
Call Number: Reference TH9111 .N48 2008
A comprehensive, integrated approach to fire code regulation and hazard management; serves as a gateway to total fire safety contains extracts from and references to more than 130 NFPA® codes and standards that address the full range of fire protection and life safety issues.
Architectural Graphic Standards - American Institute of Architects
Call Number: Reference TH 2031 .A84 2007
Classic source includes contemporary issues such as LEED standards, sustainable construction, new building systems & structural technologies, universal & accessible design strategies, computing technologies including Building Information Modeling (BIM), CAD/CAM, etc.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait