Industry Standards
An industry standard is a voluntary, industry-developed agreement that establishes requirements for products, practices, or operations in a given field of activity. In this guide industry standards are United States standards unless otherwise noted.
Industry Organizations
A few of the organizations involved in creating industry standards.
- American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
- American Concrete Institute
- American Public Works Association
- ASHRAE - American Society of Heating Refrigeration and Airconditioning ngineers
- ASME - American Society of Mechanicla Enigneers
- AWWA - American Water Works Association
- American Welding Society
- Construction Specifications Intitute
- International Electrochemical Commission
- International Telecommunication Union
- National Fire Protection Association
- Society of Automotive Engineers
- Underwriters Laboratories
Cross-Industry Standards
- American National Standards Institute This organization that has served as administrator and coordinator of the U. S. private sector standardization system for 80+ years. ANSI does not develop standards; it examines and approves standards developed by others. Search using NSSN.
- American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) Organization that provides a forum for the development and publication of voluntary standards for materials, products, systems and services. Search at this site, request downloads of standards at the Raynor Library Information Desk.
- IEEE Standards
Browse by number or search by title keyword for approved, unapproved and draft standards published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Full text of standards is included. - NISO - National Information Standards Organization NISO is a non-profit association accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) that identifies, develops, maintains, and publishes technical standards to manage information; for content publishers, libraries, and software developers, etc.
- Occupational Health and Safety (OSHA)
Searchable site of U.S. gov't workplace safety standards and regulations. Link to full text.
Industry-Specific Standards/Codes
- ASME Boiler & Pressure Vessel Code - Section II This internationally recognized code establishes rules of safety governing the design, fabrication, and inspection of boilers and pressure vessels. Section II - Materials, contains four parts that efficiently organize the important materials data used in ASME code design and construction of boilers and pressure vessels.
- SAE Digital Library - Transportation database
Indexes standards, technical reports (TR), & articles world-wide covering research in mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, & manufacturing technology. Full text of TRs only.
ASTM News

Loading RSS Feed...
ANSI News

Loading RSS Feed...
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait