Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Encyclopedias and Almanacs 

Find general and specialized encyclopedias and almanacs, both in print and online.
Last update: Jul 31st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/encyclopedias  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Specialized: Anthropology to Zoology             Print Page
  

Quick Links

Need Help?

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian: 414.288.7556

Email a Librarian

Research Consultation

 
 

Finding a Specialized Encyclopedia

The Libraries have over 3,200 encyclopedias, most of them specialized. One could be just right for your needs, whether it be psychology, history, nursing, statistics and many more.  Go to the Advanced Keyword Screen below and follow these steps:

1.  Enter a search command in the first window like this:  encyclopedia and ???.  Replace the question marks with a discipline of your choice, such as psychology, biology, and so on.  Or try any term you wish, like japan.  Then click "Submit."

2.  If you get too many hits, go to "Limit to:" and enter a date range, such as 1990 to 2010.  Or change "Search and Sort" to date.  That puts the most recent first.

3.  If you only want an online encyclopedia, enter e-books in the window below your first command.

 

Find an E-Encyclopedia using MARQCAT

MARQCAT Advanced Keyword Searching

Advanced Keyword Search

Please fill in the boxes, select limits, and click
Submit (or choose a Simple Keyword Search):

 
 

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online
Just enter your term and search in all, or find a specialized encyclopedia by making a selection under "Subject Reference."

 

Gale Virtual Reference

Gale Virtual Reference

Just enter your term and search in all, or select a particular encyclopedia.

 

OED Word of the Day


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait