Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Biography and People 

Research tools for locating biographical information
Last update: Aug 11th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/biography  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases             Print Page
  

Need Help?

IM a Librarian:
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian:
Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556

Email a Librarian:
Email the Information Desk at
askus@marquette.edu

Request an Appointment:
Research Consultation

Stop by In-person:
Service Hours

 

Databases

Databases provide a systematic method of searching for articles, and other documents, on your topic. Some databases include full text of the documents they index but some do not. The dollowing is a list of the top databases for biographical resources.  They are available off campus to valid Marquette Card holders only.

  • Academic Search Elite  
    Provides full text for over 2,000 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and much more.
  • American National Biography  
    Contains full-text biographies of more than 17,400 American men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
  • Biography Reference Bank Select  
    Contains more than 46,000 biographies and obituaries and more than 20,000 photographs of famous persons (including historical and contemporary figures.)
  • Biography Resource Center  
    Full-text biographical information on more than 250,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
  • Newspapers in ProQuest  
    Coverage of 300 + National and International news sources.
  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography  
    An online version of the 60 volume print edition containing 50,000 biographies of individuals affecting all aspects of British history.
  • Oxford Music Online  
    This includes three dictionaries: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, 2001; The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, 1992; and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition.
  • Oxford Reference Online  
    http://www.marquette.edu/cgi-bin/lib-database.cgi?Link=OrO
  • ProQuest Research Library  
    Indexing, abstracts and selected full text or full images of articles in a wide range of magazines and journals.
  • Who's Who (Marquis)  
    The Complete Marquis Who's Who is included in the Biography Resource Center. This file contains more than 900,000 thumbnail biographies from 20 Marquis sources.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageMary Frenn
IM a LibrarianIM a Librarian


Contact Info:
Research and Instructional Services
Raynor Memorial Libraries
P.O. Box 3141
Milwaukee, WI 53201-3141
414-288-1995
Send Email

Subjects:
Funding Information, Social Work

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait