This is the "Start Here" page of the "Getting Published" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Getting Published   Tags: academic_writing, getting_published, publishers, publishing  

This guide supports the writing and marketing of scholarly or literary works
Last Updated: Dec 3, 2013 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/getting_published Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 

Getting Started

Use the blue tabs above for specific types of writing projects. These selected materials support writing and marketing of scholarly or literary works for publication. Library call numbers are provided and suggested MARQCAT subjects headings will lead to additional resources.

Before looking for books on the shelves, users are advised to check circulation status in MARQCAT. Users may recall books that are currently checked out by clicking on the blue "Recall/Hold" button in each catalog record, then completing the request procedure.

Related research guides that may be helpful include: Citation Help.

Need Help?

 

IM from your service:
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian:
414.288-7556

Email a Librarian:
askus@marquette.edu

Request an Appointment:
Research Consultation

Stop by In-person:
Service Hours

 

Finding a Publisher--Books

To find more books on getting published, use MARQCAT’s Subject Headings, such as Authors and Publishers; Authorship--Marketing; Book Proposals; Books--Marketing; Manuscript Preparation; Scholarly Publishing; and Self Publishing. Some titles in our collection include:


Cover Art
Bulletproof Book Proposals - Pam Brodowsky and Eric Neuhaus
Call Number: PN161 .B73 2006

Cover Art
Formatting & Submitting Your Manuscript - Cynthia Laufenberg and the editors of Writer's Digest Books
Call Number: PN160 .N44 2004

Cover Art
Getting it Published: A Guide for Scholars and Anyone Else Serious about Serious Books - William Germano
Call Number: PN161 .G46 2008

Cover Art
Guide to Literary Agents - F & W Publications
Call Number: PN163 .G84

Cover Art
How I Got Published: Famous Authors Tell You In Their Own Words - Edited by Ray White & Duane Lindsay
Call Number: PN161 .H65 2007

Cover Art
How to Write a Book Proposal - Michael Larsen
Call Number: PN161 .L37 2003

Cover Art
No More Rejections: 50 Secrets to Writing a Manuscript That Sells - Alice Orr
Call Number: PN161 .O77 2004

Cover Art
Publish Your Nonfiction Book: Strategies for Learning the Industry, Selling Your Book, and Building a Successful Career - Sharlene Martin and Anthony Flacco
Call Number: PN161 .M376 2009

Cover Art
The Writer's Guide to Queries, Pitches & Proposals - Moira Anderson Allen
Call Number: PN161 .A55 2010

Cover Art
Writer's Market Guide to Getting Published - Writer's Digest Books Editors
Call Number: PN161 .W832 2010

Cover Art
Writer's Market Companion - Joe Feiertag, Mary Carmen Cupito, and the Editors of Writer's Digest Books
Call Number: PN147 .F43 2004

Cover Art
The Writer's Digest Guide to Query Letters - Wendy Burt-Thomas
Call Number: PN161 .B87 2008

 

Featured New Books

Cover Art
Writer's Guide to Queries, Pitches, and Proposals - Moira Anderson Allen
Call Number: PN161 .A55 2010

Cover Art
Forest for the Trees: An Editor's Advice to Writers - Betsy Lerner
Call Number: PN147 .L44 2010

Cover Art
Starting Your Career as a Freelance Writer (Second Edition) - Moira Anderson Allen
Call Number: PN151 .A49 2011

Cover Art
Getting Published in the Humanities: what to know, where to aim, how to succeed - Jeffrey Kahan
Call Number: PN146 .K34 2012

Cover Art
The Productive Writer - Sage Cohen
Call Number: PN147 .C725 2010

Finding a Publisher--Directories

These directories provide contact and submission information, as well as subjects covered. 

  • AAUP Directory (Amer. Assn. of University Presses)
    Annual, latest in Raynor Reference Z231 .5 .U6 A83. View MARQCAT Record
  • Literary Market Place
    Annual, Latest in Raynor Reference PN 161 .L5. View MARQCAT Record
  • Cabell's (limited to MU users)  
      
    Online directory of journals in business (accounting, economics & finance, marketing); education (educational curriculum, educational psychology, and educational technology; and psychology & psychiatry.
  • MLA Directory of Periodicals (via Proquest)
    Journals in the fields of language and literature.
  • Ulrich's Periodical Directory
    Covers more than 300,000 journals in 900 subject fields, including peer-review and manuscript submission information.
 

Finding an Agent

AgentQuery

Free searchable database of literary agents, including author resources on submitting manuscripts and writing query letters. 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2013 Marquette University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip