Clinical Queries
- PubMed Clinical Queries
Enter your search terms, select a category and choose a narrow or broad search. As always, to see how your search has been run, click on the Details tab on the results page. - Medline Clinical Queries
After running a search, results can be limited to clinical queries, found under Additional Limits. Select one of nine categories, i.e., therapy, diagnosis, prognosis, reviews, clinical prediction guides, qualitative studies, etiology, costs or economics. Each category has 3 levels: sensitivity (broad), specificity (narrow), or optimized (balanced).
EviDENTS
- EviDents
Enter your topic as a PICO question in this PubMed search engine and select diagnosis, treatment, etc. You can limit results by dental field and by child vs. adult. You can also limit retrieval to systematic reviews. It was developed at the U. of Texas Health Science Center, Dept. of Medicine - Medical Informatics.
Journals with summaries of evidence
Summaries of evidence are quick ways to keep up with the literature. They are written by experts but should nonetheless be read critically. Visit the journal hompages to set up issue alerts.
- Evidence-Based Dentistry
See the Toolbox section for search tools and more. See the DEBT (Dental Evidence-Based Topics) section for critical summaries with a broader focus (a topic or question) as opposed to a single study or review. Published by bimonthly by Nature and the British Dental Association - The Journal of Evidence-Based Dental Practice
Includes original articles as well as reviews. Published quarterly by Elsevier.
Evidence-Based Dentistry
ADA Center for Evidence Based Dentistry
Lists systematic reviews and clinical reccommendations and indcludes an extensive Resources page.
ADA Policy on
Evidence-Based Dentistry
Includes a definition of EBD and a glossary of terms.
Bandolier: Dental and Oral
Health National Health Service (U.K.)
CASP Appraisal Tools (Critical
Appraisal Skills Programme) Centre for EBD, Oxford
Centre for Evidence-Based Dentistry Institute of Health
Sciences, Oxford
Cochrane Oral Health Group
Dental Health Agency for Healthcare
Research and Quality (AHRQ)
ebe Evidence-based Endodontics Literature Database
Evidence-Based Dentistry journal
(published by British Dental J. and Nature Publishing Group) *From off campus, use
this link--Available to
Marquette users only
Evidence Based Dentistry
U. of Adelaide Library
Excellent introduction to EBD; three part online course
"Evidence-based Dentistry" A six-part article series by Susan E. Sutherland, DDS published in the Journal of the Canadian Dental Association
- Part I. Getting Started
- Part II. Searching for Answers to Clinical Questions: How to Use MEDLINE
- Part III. Searching for Answers to Clinical Questions: Finding E-vidence on the Internet. Written with Stephanie Walker, MA, MLS.
- Part IV. Research Design and Levels of Evidence
- Part V. Critical Appraisal of the Dental Literature: Papers About Therapy
- Part VI. Critical Appraisal of the Dental Literature: Papers About Diagnosis, Etiology and Prognosis
Evidence Based Dentistry
Guide U. of Sydney Library
Excellent site; includes guides and tutorials.
Evidence-based Practice Centers AHRQ
Evidentista Pan American Centers for Evidence
Based Dentistry
Provides bottom line answers to common clinical queries as well as guidance for 5 steps to Practicing EBD.
EviDents U. of Texas Health
Science Center, Dept. of Medicine - Medical Informatics
PubMed search engine for evidence based dentistry utilizing PICO method input interface
International Centre for Evidence-based
Oral Health (ICEOH)
National and International
Guidelines, Statements, Position papers, Proceedings & Meta-analyses FDI World Dental
Federation
Contains citations and links to documents in several dental fields. Each document type
is identified.
ADA EBD Center
- ADA EBD Center
Includes bibliography of systematic reviews which is arranged by topic. It is only updated quarterly and does not include full text. It provides clinical guidelines on fluoride, sealants, infective endocarditis and tobacco. **See the Resources link for lots of useful tools and sources.
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews
EBM Reviews consists of 7 databases, all but one of which have dental content. Because searching is primarily by keyword, you should use synonyms and truncation to ensure good results. Also include the British spellings of your search terms where appropriate.
To narrow a search, consider limiting your search to specific fields such as title or abstract. For example, (periodont* or gingiv*).ti,ab. Records in some of the databases have had MeSH terms applied. They are searchable in the keyword (.kw.) field. See the Search Fields tab above the input box for more field options and descriptions.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Contains full text systematic reviews done by the Cochrane Collaboration. It includes protocols, which are planned or in-process reviews. Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews is a subset of this database. - DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects)
Contains brief critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals - CCTR (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register)
Contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care together with references to clinical trials identified in MEDLINE and EMBASE by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration. - Cochrane Methodology Register
Contains studies relevant to the methods of systematic reviews of health care and social interventions. It includes journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, conference abstracts and reports of ongoing methodological research. - Health Technology Assessment Database
Contains over 4000 descriptive (not analytical) abstracts of systematic reviews and ongoing and completed research based on trials, questionnaires and economic evaluations - National Health Service Economic Evaluation Database
Contains over 6000 abstracts of cost-benefit analyses about healthcare interventions. - EBM Reviews - all segments
The entire database can be searched at once.
EBD Books
Evidence-based Decision Making: A Translational Guide for Dental Professionals
Call Number: RK51.5 .E95 2009
Introduction to evidence-based decision making -- PICO: asking good questions -- Research design and sources of evidence -- Levels of evidence -- Finding the evidence: using PICO to guide the search -- Critical appraisal of the evidence -- Evaluating web-based health information -- Applying the evidence to practice -- Evaluating the process and your performance
Manual of Evidence-Based Research for the Health Sciences: Implication for Clinical Dentistry
Call Number: RK53 .M36 2008
Evidence-Based Dentistry: An Introduction
Call Number: RK53 .H33 2006
Evidence-based dentistry: what it is and how to practice it --Counting people : understanding percentages and proportions--Taking measurements on people--Comparing groups of people and examining associations --Assessing the effectiveness of treatments--Determining risk factors for and causes of disease--Detecting disease--Study design issues--Reviewing all the evidence--Summary of statistical concepts
Evidence Based Dentistry for Effective Practice
Call Number: RK28.7 .E85 2003
Introduction to evidence based dentistry--Different types of evidence: where and how to find them --The why and how of critical appraisal --Why are systematic reviews useful?--Understanding the statistical pooling of data --The Cochrane Collaboration and its relevance to dentistry--Systematic reviews in dentistry: the role of the Cochrane Oral Health Group--How are other levels of evidence being used?--Ways to disseminate and implement research evidence--What effect will evidence based dentistry have on clinical practice?--What are the implications for training and continuing professional education?--Implications of evidence based health care for education, research, and dental practice--Challenges to evidence based practice--Using evidence in practice: case studies
Different study types provide better evidence for different question types
Different study types (e.g., systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials or cohort studies) provide higher levels of evidence for different types of clinical questions (e.g, diagnosis, treatment or prognosis). Clinical Queries in PubMed or in Medline via Ovid are designed to retrieve different study types based on the category you select. The Centre for Evidence Based Medicine provides rankings of study types by level of evidence for five categories of clinical questions here.
Clinical Q&As - Evidentista
- Clinical Questions and Answers from Evidentista
Provides answers, based on evidence, to clinical questions in several areas of dentistry. Source: Pan American Centers for Evidence Based Dentistry
Quick overview
Here is a recent 2 part overview of EBD by the librarian for the Canadian Dental Association, Danielle Rabb-Waytowich, and published in their journal.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait