Evidence-Based Dentistry
ADA Center for Evidence Based Dentistry
Lists systematic reviews and clinical reccommendations and indcludes an extensive Resources page.
ADA Policy on
Evidence-Based Dentistry
Includes a definition of EBD and a glossary of terms.
Bandolier: Dental and Oral
Health National Health Service (U.K.)
CASP Appraisal Tools (Critical
Appraisal Skills Programme) Centre for EBD, Oxford
Centre for Evidence-Based Dentistry Institute of Health
Sciences, Oxford
Cochrane Oral Health Group
Dental Health Agency for Healthcare
Research and Quality (AHRQ)
ebe Evidence-based Endodontics Literature Database
Evidence-Based Dentistry journal
(published by British Dental J. and Nature Publishing Group) *From off campus, use
this link--Available to
Marquette users only
Evidence Based Dentistry
U. of Adelaide Library
Excellent introduction to EBD; three part online course
"Evidence-based Dentistry" A six-part article series by Susan E. Sutherland, DDS published in the Journal of the Canadian Dental Association
- Part I. Getting Started
- Part II. Searching for Answers to Clinical Questions: How to Use MEDLINE
- Part III. Searching for Answers to Clinical Questions: Finding E-vidence on the Internet. Written with Stephanie Walker, MA, MLS.
- Part IV. Research Design and Levels of Evidence
- Part V. Critical Appraisal of the Dental Literature: Papers About Therapy
- Part VI. Critical Appraisal of the Dental Literature: Papers About Diagnosis, Etiology and Prognosis
Evidence Based Dentistry
Guide U. of Sydney Library
Excellent site; includes guides and tutorials.
Evidence-based Practice Centers AHRQ
Evidentista Pan American Centers for Evidence
Based Dentistry
Provides bottom line answers to common clinical queries as well as guidance for 5 steps to Practicing EBD.
EviDents U. of Texas Health
Science Center, Dept. of Medicine - Medical Informatics
PubMed search engine for evidence based dentistry utilizing PICO method input interface
International Centre for Evidence-based
Oral Health (ICEOH)
National and International
Guidelines, Statements, Position papers, Proceedings & Meta-analyses FDI World Dental
Federation
Contains citations and links to documents in several dental fields. Each document type
is identified.
Guidelines
ADA Positions and
Statements
Infection
Control Guidelines and Recommendations CDC Oral Health Resources
National and International
Guidelines, Statements, Position papers, Proceedings & Meta-analyses FDI World Dental
Federation
Citations and links to documents in several dental fields. Each document type
is identified.
National Guideline Clearinghouse U.S. Dept. of
Health and Human Services
Prevention of Dental Caries in
Preschool Children U.S. Preventive Service Task Force
Dental Education and Boards
Accreditation Standards for Dental
Education Programs ADA
American Association of Dental Examiners
American Board of Forensic Odontology
American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
American Board of Oral Implantology/Implant Dentistry
American Board of Orthodontics
American Board of Prosthodontics
American Dental Board of Anesthesiology
American Dental Education Association
American Student Dental Association
National Board Dental
Exam ADA
National Board of Orthodontics, U.S.
Google Tips & Tricks
- Use the Advanced feature of Google to be more specific in your search
- Type "intitle:" to search only page titles.. Try intitle:digital divide (no space!)
- Type "inurl:" to search only the web address of a page. Try inurl:raynor
- Type "related:" to find pages that Google thinks are related in content. Try related:www.marquette.edu/library
- Type "search tips site:" to specify a site to search within. Try search tips site:www.usps.com international shipping
- Access Google Directory at directory.google.com
- Type "site:" to return results from a specfic domain. Try site:.org library
- Type "intext" in Google News to pull terms from the body of the story
- Type "define:" to access the built-in dictionary
- No Calculator handy? Type 12*78 and hitting search will give you the answer
- The calculator also converts measurements and currency. Try 200 pounds in euros
- Type weather and a location or zipcode to get a four day forecast.
- By attaching a postcode at the end of your search will give you results for your inquiry
- Type time and a name of place to find the time anywhere in the world
- Enter a statistics-based query like "population of Britain" and it will show you the answer on top of the results
- You can search foreign sites by clicking "language tools" on the right of the search box which allows you to choose what countries sites to translate your query to.
Public Health
American Association for Community Dental Programs
"Serving
the oral health needs of vulnerable populations at the community level"
Dental, Oral and Craniofacial Data Resource Center
NIDCR/CDC
- Oral Health U.S., 2002 annual report of oral health statistics including tables, graphs and descriptive data summaries
- Data Query System to "retrieve nationally representative frequencies, percentages, and confidence intervals on oral health data from national health survey databases"
- Catalog of Surveys and Archive of Procedures Related to Oral Health
Facts and Figures FDI
World Dental Federation
Information about dentistry in many countries,
e.g., number of dentists, oral health care system.
Medical Expenditure Panel Surveys - Dental
Includes "detailed information on dental events, including source of payment,
total payment and total charge, type of provider seen and procedures." Data tables, publications and analytical tools are available.
National Center for Fluoridation
National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center
Georgetown University
- Bright Futures in Practice: Oral Health Pocket Guide
- Dental Sealant Resource Guide, 2nd ed.
- Knowledge Path: Oral Health and Children and Adolescents
Oral Health American Academy of
Pediatricians
Oral Health America
Oral Health in America: A
Report of the Surgeon General May, 2000
Oral Health Resources CDC
WHO Oral Health
Country/Area Profile Programme
Wisconsin Oral Health
Program Dept. of Health & Family Services
Consumer Health
Academy of General Dentistry: For the Public
American Dental Association Public
pages
Animated-Teeth.com
Ask NOAH About--Dental Care
New York Online Access to Health
Cleft Conditions The Center for Craniofacial Anomalies U. of
CA-SF Sch. of Dentistry
Dental and Oral Health Center
netwellness: Consumer Health Information
University partners: U. of Cincinnati, The OH State U. & Case Western Reserve U.
Dental Health
MedlinePlus
Dental Watch "Your Guide to Intelligent Dental Care"
Oral Cancer Foundation
Parent Education Brochures
American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry
Simple Steps to Better Dental Health U. of
Pennsylvania Sch. of Dental Med. & Aetna
Wisconsin Dental Association: For The Public
Special Needs Patients
American Association for Community Dental Programs
"Serving the oral health needs of vulnerable populations at the community level"
Developmental
Disabilities and Oral Health NIDCR
HIVdent
International Association for Disability and Oral Health
"Oral Health of
Children Adolescents and Adults with Special Health Care Needs"
A Best Practice Approach Report from the Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors
Special Care Dentistry Association
Special Needs
NIDCR
Wisconsin Oral Health
Program: Donated Dental Services
Associations
Academy of Dental Materials
Academy of Dentistry International
Academy of General Dentistry
Academy of Prosthodontics
Academy of Osseointegration
American Academy of Esthetic Dentistry
American Academy of Fixed Prosthodontics
American Academy of Implant Dentistry
American Academy of Maxillofacial
Prosthetics
American Academy of Oral Medicine
American Academy of Orofacial Pain Includes a TMD tutorial
American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry
American Academy of Periodontology
The American Academy of Restorative Dentistry
American Association for Functional Orthodontics
American Association of Endodontists
American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology
American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons
American Association of Orthodontists
American Association of Public Health Dentistry
American Association of Women Dentists
American College of Dentists
American College of Prosthodontics
American Dental Association
American Endodontic Society, Inc.
American Society of Forensic Odontology
Association of State & Territorial Dental
Directors
FDI World Dental Federation
International Academy of Periodontology
International Association for Orthodontics
International College of Dentists: U.S. Section
International Federation of Esthetic Dentistry
Oral Cancer Foundation
Oral Health Specialist Library National
Library for Health, National Health Service, UK
Organization for Safety & Asepsis Procedures "Dentistry's
Resource for Infection Control & Safety"
Wisconsin Dental Association
World Federation of Orthodontists
Evaluating Websites
Depending on the purpose of your paper and your professor's guidelines, you may use online web sources. By applying these five criteria you can decide if they are appropriate for an assignement. Ask yourself the following questions:
- Authority
Is the document author or site sponsor clearly identified?
Does the site provide contact information for the author or sponsor? - Objectivity or clear disclosure of advocacy
Is the site's purpose clear (for example, to inform, entertain or persuade)
Is the site explicit about declaring its point of view?
Does the site indicate whether it is directed toward a specific audience? - Coverage
Are the topics covered by the site clear?
Does the site exhibit a suitable depth and comprehensiveness for its purpose?
Is sufficient evidence provides to support the ideas and options presented? - Accuracy
Are the sources of information stated?
Do the facts appear to be accurate?
Can you verify this information by comparing this source with other sources in the field? - Currency
Are the dates included in the website?
Is the information current, or at least still relevant for the site's purpose? For you purpose?
Criteria list taken in whole from: Ramage, Bean and Johnson. The Allyn and Becon Guide to Writing. 5th Ed. customized for Marquette University. Boston: Pearson Education, Inc., 2009: 602.
Internet Search Tips
Try these to get more specific or broader results
Wild Card
- Use a * to include forms or variants of words in your search
- Example: type test* to search for test, testing, tests
Adding a ~
- Adding a tilde (~) to your search term will return related terms.
- Example: ~nutrition will search also nutrition, food and health
Adding a -
- Adding a negative (-) to your search term will take away that term in your search.
- Example: Pets -cats will not find web sites that focus upon cats as pets.
Phase Search
- By inserting quotes around an exact phase, you will search only the words you type in, in that exact order with no words in between term.
- Example: "consumer product chemistry"
Boolean Operators
- Using AND, OR, NOT can broaden or narrow a search depending on your inquiry. "AND" will give you results that contain both words. "OR" will give results about either word and "NOT" will not search the term preceding.
- Example: Summer AND Flower, Summer OR Flower, Summer NOT flower
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait