Dentistry: Handbooks, Atlases & Dictionaries

All aspects of dentistry from chair-side tools to evidence based dentistry to board exam preparation to practice management

Need Help?

Ask us!

Why background?

Background sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) provide well established summary and factual information. Useful for:

basic concepts and established viewpoints
historical context and relationships to other topics
specialized terms and definitions
data, facts, formulas

Lexi-Comps' Dental Reference Library

Updated frequently

Clinician's Endodontic Handbook
Covers the latest techniques, procedures and materials. 275+ photos, radiographs, diagrams and drawings. Covers management of dental trauma.
Illustrated Handbook of Clinical Dentistry
Reviews basic clinical principles and procedures and is intended as a tool for efficient Dx and Tx. Includes full color photos, radiographs and illustrations.
Manual of Clinical Periodontics
Provides evidence-based Dx, therapy options and Tx plans. Includes 285+ drawings and photos.
Manual of Dental Implants
Provides Dx and Tx plans; includes 200+ photos, diagrams and decision trees. Covers the administrative aspects of incorporating implant treatment into a general practice.
Oral Soft Tissue Diseases
This manual covers the diagnosis, treatment and management of >100 lesions. Includes photographs.
Oral Surgery [for the General Dentist]
Provides step-by-step guidance for simple surgical procedures. Covers 40 surgical cases. Includes 600+ photos, including instruments.

Anatomy e-resource

Anatomy.tv from Primal Pictures This link opens in a new window
Provides images and video of human anatomy models and scans.
Accessibility notice: the content of this database is visually-based and requires navigation with a mouse: it is not fully accessible to students with visual impairment and/or who require assistive technology. If students are required to use this database in a course, the faculty member is required to insert a statement in the syllabus indicating that students with disabilities will need assistance to fully utilize the database.
Includes Regional, Systemic, and Sports & Therapy modules. Specialty titles include Dentistry, Head & Neck: Basic Neuroanatomy, and Speech Language Pathology. Features interactive 3D human anatomy models (The 3D Real-time Body), MRI scans, quizzes, movies, interactive animations and more. Content may be exported for use in lectures, student presentations or patient handouts.

Dictionaries

Mosby's Dental Dictionary, 3rd ed.
Call Number: RK27 .M672 2014
Single user license. 3rd edition.
Defines over 10,000 terms covering all areas of dentistry and includes over 300 illustrations.
Check MARQCAT record for print availability.
Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Dental Professions, 2nd.ed.
Call Number: Reference RK27 .S744 2012
Includes a full-color oral conditions and disorders insert. Appendices include tooth numbering systems; dental imaging errors; guidelines for infection control; weights and measures; laboratory reference range values; and more. View MARQCAT Record
A Dictionary of Dentistry, 1st ed. by Robert Ireland
Call Number: RK 27 .I745 2010
Contains >4,500 definitions written without the use of unnecessary dental or medical jargon. Includes line drawings. Covers a broad range of dental specialist areas. View MARQCAT record for availability and location.
Spanish Terminology for the Dental Team = Terminología en Español para el Equipo Dental
Call Number: Reference RK27 .S67 2011
View MARQCAT Record

Handbooks & Encyclopedias

Basic Guide to Dental Procedures, 2nd ed.
Publication Date: 2015
Single user license.
Provides an introduction to the core preventative and routine restorative treatments.
Infection Control and Management of Hazardous Materials for the Dental Team, 5th ed.
Call Number: RK52 .M46 2014
Covers everything from basic concepts in microbiology to protocols for clinical asepsis. View MARQCAT Record
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference
Call Number: Reference RK701 .G34; latest edition
Provides guidelines for safe, accurate drug administration for more than 800 drugs. Includes indications,dosages, contraindications, interactions, side effects, serious reactions, and dental-specific drug information. The CD has a full-color pill atlas and printable patient education handouts. View MARQCAT Record
Dentist's Guide to Medical Conditions, Medications and Complications, 2nd ed.
Outlines protocols for treating patients with common conditions, presents essential drug interaction information, and guides the dental professional through prevention and management of in-office medical emergencies.
Synthesis Lectures on Tissue Engineering
Each short book is written by experts and is intended to be a treatise on a single subject. This collection includes Regenerative Dentistry, Tissue Engineering of Temporomandibular Joint Cartilage, Fundamental Biomechanics in Bone Tissue Engineering and more. Dental Tissue Engineering is forthcoming.

Atlases

Wheeler's Dental Anatomy, Physiology and Occlusion, 10th ed.
Call Number: RK280 .W48 2015
Provides illustrated coverage of dentitions, pulp formation, the sequence of eruptions, and clinical considerations. Over 900 full-color images and clinical photographs. View MARQCAT Record
Netter's Head and Neck Anatomy for Dentistry, 2nd ed.
Call Number: RK280 .N67 2012
Check MARQCAT for print availability.
Uses more than 600 full-color images from the Netter Collection to richly depict all of the key anatomy that's relevant to clinical practice.
Head and Neck Anatomy for Dental Medicine
Call Number: Reference QM535 .H43 2010
View MARQCAT record
McMinn's Color Atlas of Head and Neck Anatomy by 4th ed.
Call Number: Reference QM535 .M25 2010
Includes dissections (with notes and commentaries), osteology, radiographic and surface anatomy images, plus an appendix with dental anesthesia information. View MARQCAT Record
Color Atlas of Basic Histology
Call Number: QM557 .B425 2003 (Memorial level 5)
includes 500 full-color, oversized photomicrographs accompanied by clear explanations that identify key morphologic features of specific tissues; self-assessment chapter includes over 60 test photomicrographs. View MARQCAT Record
Color Atlas of Dental Implant Surgery, 4th ed.
Call Number: RK667 .I45 B56 2015
Provides full-color clinical photos and practical instructions covering a wide range of implant challenges. View MARQCAT Record
Atlas of Oral Implantology, 3rd ed.
Call Number: Reference RK667.I45 C7 2010
Covers diagnosis and planning, basic implant surgery, advanced implant surgery, implant prosthodontics, and implant management. Includes more than 1,500 color illustrations, a glossary and 13 appendices. View MARQCAT Record

Free Drug Information Sites

These are free, reliable sources of information brought to you by the National Library of Medicine, a unit of the NIH (National Institutes of Health.

Daily Med
Provides high quality information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts). It currently covers more than 90K drugs.
Drug Information Portal
Searchable in several ways, pulling from many information sources, covers > 68K drugs and has a mobile-friendly site. From the National Library of Medicine

Human Oral Microbiome Database

HOMD - Human Oral Microbiome Database
genetic information
"The goal of creating the Human Oral Microbiome Database (HOMD) is to provide the scientific community with comprehensive information on the approximately 600 prokaryote species that are present in the human oral cavity." Click here for the "User Documentation."