Why Style?
According to Wikipedia, a Style guide "is a set of standards for design and writing of documents, either for general use or for a specific publication or organization."
A style guide generally covers everything from preparing a paper for publication to how to format the title page. Perhaps most importantly, it covers how to cite your references. The style guide from the American Psychological Association is the standard for the field of psychology and is used for many other disciplines as well, including business.
Style guide. (2008, March 30). In Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Retrieved 03:01, April 2, 2008.
Citation Manager Software
Citation or Reference managers are software products which can store and organize your references. In addition to the organizational benefits these products can help create bibliographies formatted in any style. Some can also create in-text citations or footnotes as you write your paper.
There is a 'learning curve' when you first use them: I suggest that using one of these will be most worth your while when you have a big (i.e. long!) and important paper to write.
This Web-base citation manager allows you to create a personal database of book and/or article citations by importing references from online databases or text files. You can quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles. You can access your own RefWorks account anywhere on or off campus. Create your account at the Refworks' login screen.
RefWorks is provided to the Marquette community through MU Libraries' subscription to the service. For more information and helpful guides go to the Libraries' RefWorks information page
This Web-based reference management tool allows you to create a personal database of references by importing citations from online databases or text files. You can organize references into folders, and quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles.
Endnote Web is provided free of charge to Marquette students and faculty as part of our subscription to Web of Science. If you don't have a personal Web of Science account, you can sign up for an Endnote Web account at myendnoteweb.com. You must be on campus in order to create an account. Once registered, you can access your Endnote Web account from on or off campus. You will need to login while on campus at least once every twelve months in order to maintain your account.
APA Style Manuals
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83
ISBN/ISSN: 1557987912
Several copies are available in Memorial library for check out as well as one copy at the Reserve Desk, one copy in the Raynor Reference Collection and one copy at the Raynor Information Desk.
APA style guide to electronic references
Call Number: BF76.7 .P832 2007
Outlines newly approved style rules for citing electronic sources. These rules are not covered by the Publication Manual. Several copies of this item are available in Memorial for check out as well as copies in the Reference collection, Reserve collection and at the Information Desk.
Any MU student faculty or staff may download their own copy from our server. Click on the title above.
xkcd comic
Why RefWorks?
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait