Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

Education  Tags: education apa_style statistics curriculum  

Guide to finding books, articles, statistics, curriculum materials and more. This page is updated and added to frequently.
Last update: Nov 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/education  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles             Print Page
  
 

Why Articles?

Articles appear in publications called magazines, journals, periodicals, newspapers and serials.  They are generally published at regular intervals, e.g. daily, weekly, monthly, annually, etc.  Articles are good sources for:

  • most recent research on a topic
  • coverage of very narrow topics
  • coverage of current events
  • contemporary accounts of past events and research
 
 

Quick Search in Education & Psychology

Search several Education/Psychology databases simultaneously

Quick Search in Education & Psychology Article Databases
for: 

Article Databases

Databases provide a systematic method of searching for articles, and other documents, on your topic. Some databases include full text of the documents they index but many do not. The top databases for psychology are:

  • Education in ProQuest  
      
    Covers over 300 professional and scholarly periodicals related to education. Includes some full text and full image articles. Good coverage for mid 1980's to present.
  • ERIC  
      
    Comprehensive database in Education, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, indexes journal articles and specialized reports in educational fields back to 1960s. VPN required if off-campus and also using RefWorks.
  • PsycINFO  
      
    The most comprehensive database for psychology research covers scholarly international literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes articles in more than 2000 journals as well as book chapters and dissertations.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Covers the top journals in the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Can keyword search for topic but also offers unique 'cited reference' searching to trace trace research 'forward' by identifying newer articles citing an older work.
  • Other Education databases  
      
    For additional databases indexing topics relevant to education see this full list.
 

Getting the Articles

The Libraries subscribe to over 24,000 journals, most in electronic format. There are a variety of ways to find out if the Libraries subscribe to the journals you need.

If you already have the citation to an article:

  • Use MARQCAT. Search by Title and enter the title of the journal, NOT the title or author of the article.

If you are looking at citations from within a database:

  • Use the FindIt@MU icon in the citation you are interested in. This will open another window and do one of two things

    • Display a list of databases with links. This indicates the FindIt widget may have found a source for electronic copy of the article. Click on the link to determine if a full text option is located.
    • Displays only a link to MARQCAT. Click the MARQCAT link to search the catalog. The journal may be available in print or fulltext through a source not searchable by the FindIt widget.

If you do not find the journal using FindIt@MU or MARQCAT, request the article through Interlibrary Loan. This can be done directly from the article citation within some databases.

 
 

Evaluating Articles

Critical thinking skills should be used when deciding whether an article is appropriate to use. Consider:

Type of Publication: Is it a popular magazine or newspaper, a trade journal, or a scholarly journal? (see below)
Purpose: Is the intent to inform, entertain, persuade or educate?
Objectivity: Are various sides or points-of-view represented?
Author: Does the author have expertise on the topic?
Date: Is the information current or timely for your topic?
Bibliography: Are the authors sources of information cited completely.

Types of Periodicals

Periodicals, journals, magazines fall into 'categories' determined by their overall purpose.

Popular: Written for general public; authors and editors usually journalists not experts in subject field; purpose is to provide current, societal/cultural news and discussion.
Trade: Written for individuals in a specific career/job or with a specific interest/hobby.  Authors are generally persons working int he field/hobby or journalists with specialized knowledge.  Articles discuss current issues but are not reports of research.
Scholarly: Written for researchers, educators, students, authors are other professionals.  Articles are reports of original research or other scholarly investigations/discussions.

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait