Why background?
Background sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals, etc.) provide summary and factual information. They generally contain well established information and can be used to:
• Find basic concepts and viewpoints of topic
• Get the historical context and relationships to other topics
• Identify and define special terms used to discuss the topics
• Find or verify data, facts, formulas
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Encyclopedia of American education
Call Number: Reference LB17 .U54 2001 v.1-3
Covers every aspect of American education from colonial times to the present.
Encyclopedia of Education
Call Number: Reference LB15 .E47 2003 v.1-8
Covers cover policy & curriculum issues, learning, assessment, standards, history & culture, legislation and more.
Learning Theories A to Z
Call Number: Reference LB15 .L4695 2002
Includes 532 learning theories relating to K-2 education, higher education, and job training environments. Each theory is classfied into four categories: cognitivism, constructivism, behaviorism, or humanism.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Call Number: Electronic Resource - 2008 edition
ISBN/ISSN: 9780028659657
Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition in 1979. Features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences,
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Education
Call Number: Reference LB15 .R688 2008
A comprehensive, single-volume work, entries range from definitions of key educational concepts & terms to biographies of key educators and substantial essays on major educational topics.
Topical - electronic
- Encyclopedia of Distance Learning International coverage of the issues, concepts, trends, and technologies of distance learning. (2005)
- Learning & Learning Difficulties; a Handbook for Teachers Learning difficulties discussed within the wider context of learning processes, learning theories, and concepts about learning. (2004)
Topical - Print
- Early childhood education : an international encyclopedia
Call Number: Reference LB1139.23 .E272 2007 - Encyclopedia of special education
Call Number: Reference LC4007 .E53 2007 - Gender and education : an encyclopedia
Call Number: General Collection LC213 .G425 2007
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait