Need Help?
IM a Librarian
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443
Phone a Librarian
Call the Information Desk at 414.288-7556
Email a Librarian
Email the Infomation Desk at askus@marquette.edu
Welcome
This research guide suggests background textual and visual sources for 19th century popular culture, specifically 1840-1885. These sources and sites were selected to support the reading of Blithedale Romance, Uncle Tom's Cabin, Little Women, Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and selected poetry.
If students discover a site or resource that would be helpful to others, let me know and I would be happy to update this guide.
Contemporaneous magazine and newspaper accounts
Books
- Wright American Fiction 1861-1875
- Google Books (Advanced Search)
- Merrycoz: Nineteenth-Century American Children & What They Read
- Baldwin Library of Children's Literature (digital collection) 100,000+ American and British children's books dating as far back as the early 1700s
- more digital children's books For more digital children's books, see this resource guide for Engl 173 (Children's Literature)
Web Sites
- American Memory (Library of Congress)
- Making of America (Cornell University)
- Making of America (University of Michigan)
- America Singing: Nineteenth-Century Song Sheets
- The Walt Whitman Archive
- The Classroom Electric: Dickinson, Whitman and American Culture
- Walt Whitman: Online Resources at the Library of Congress
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
- Poetry Scrapbooks: An Online Archive
- Ardent Spirits: Origins of the American Temperance Movement
Subject Librarian |
Outreach Librarian
Raynor Memorial Libraries
414-288-5995
Send Email
Subjects:
Literatures in English
Locating Archival Materials
- ArchivGrid Great source for locating unpublished papers and other archival materials on individuals and groups; indexes over a million collections in thousands of library and association archives
- WorldCat Bibliographic database of over 35 million items held by libraries worldwide; may limit searches by language, dates, and format (archival materials, audiovisuals, serials, etc.)
Meta sites
Voice of the Shuttle: Web site for humanities research (USCB)
MU Libraries' Research Guide: History. See tabs for "Primary Sources" and "United Sates."
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait